We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Clifty Cove Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clifty Cove Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Indian Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I had the privilege of staying at the Clifty Cove last night and wish I had stayed longer! My mom and I were in Nova Scotia on vacation and decided to explore what was west of Halifax. We were lucky enough to stumble on the Clifty Cove. The owners were incredibly kind and suggested a great restaurant up the road for us. The motel itself is definitely older but the rooms have been beautifully updated. The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms completely modern. We were able to fall asleep listening to the waves, it was amazing. They also have a spot behind the motel where you can sit and enjoy the views. The price was also very reasonable. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellybakeswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    32
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
33
56
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Phenomenal view, clean room, exceptionally friendly managers. Exceptional price as well. Would definitely return. Although older vintage hotel, rooms were updated. Great location & proximity to Peggy's Cove. Real East Coast Charm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

5 star destination for rest and rejuvenation. Genuinely friendly and helpful service. My room was very clean and comfortable with an up-dated bathroom. The large windows let in lots of light and gave the best view in the world. I plan to return. Thanks for a great stay. Bev. J.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Superb room comfortable and complete. Friendly helpful reception. Spend all day just taking in the ocean. Minutes from Peggy's Cove.......don't miss it!
Off home now the holiday,s over and just maybe I,ve used 200 characters!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oatsnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

It may be an older motel, but the Clifty Cove is clean and comfortable. What more could you ask for? Well there is the picture window overlooking the cove and the sound of waves breaking on rocks - sounds that are audible from the bed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornbury, Canada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

This small (16 units), family-run motel is a gem. The rooms are clean, spacious, well-appointed, with free WiFi and parking at your front door. The views from the windows are spectacular. It is an oceanfront location, within walking distance from Peggy's Cove and nearby restaurants. The new young European innkeeper is charming and understands the meaning of hospitality....she and her husband are beginning to update/modernize the building and will make it even more welcoming over the coming years, but right now it is well worth a visit.
In fact, I extended my stay here for an additional night as I was so impressed by the view. You can sit out by the ocean and enjoy the view (and a glass of wine) at anytime.....the view is awesome
I recommend it highly.....

Room Tip: Every room overs a spectacular view.....and the ocean is 10 metres away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at this roadside Motel by the ocean for one night. The room was spacious and comfortable, the bed very comfortable and the bathroom well-appointed. Very clean, with free wi-fi and coffee service and a very friendly staff/owner. This is a great spot to watch the local fishermen bring in their catch and then sit by the ocean to watch a spectacular sunset. You feel like you live in the pictoresque little fishing village of Indian Harbour. It is a great place to stay when visiting Peggy's Cove, just far enough to be away from the tourist buses but close enough to get there in 10 minutes. Highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Harbour
15.8 mi away
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake
20.7 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#1 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
20.8 mi away
Rum Runner Inn
Rum Runner Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Coastal Inn Halifax
Coastal Inn Halifax
#22 of 28 in Halifax
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oceanstone Resort
Oceanstone Resort
#1 of 2 in Indian Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
3.7 mi away
Big Lake Motel
Big Lake Motel
#1 of 1 in Big Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifty Cove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifty Cove Motel

Property: Clifty Cove Motel
Address: 8444 Peggys Cove Rd | Peggy's Cove Area, Indian Harbour, Nova Scotia B3Z 3R1, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Indian Harbour
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Indian Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clifty Cove Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Clifty Cove Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifty Cove Hotel Indian Harbour
Clifty Cove Motel Nova Scotia/Indian Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing