We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"view stunning, owners welcoming, rooms clean and comfortable"”
Review of Clifty Cove Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clifty Cove Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Indian Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We were going to stay just a night and ended up staying two. We loved the view, right on the water with amazing sunsets. Owners had a fire pit on the rocks in the evening everyone was welcome to join. First night the owners mum (visiting for the summer) cooked us all sausages, second night we brought marshmallows. If that was not for you, you had privacy with spectacular views. Second morning we were lucky enough to see the fishing boat unload at the dock. Rooms were not fancy but were comfortable and clean, the owner friendly and helpful.
We have recommended Clifty Cove Motel to our friends heading that way and we look forward to our next visit. Thank you. Bridget and Jack

Room Tip: apparently the rooms in the middle had been renovated and had the best view but we were in an end un...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Clifty Cove Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 151 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012

While it is not fancy the staff were friendly and it was close to Peggy's Cove. Fantastic view at sunset. Chairs were available to watch the sunset and the motel was very comfortable. We will definitely return and I have told others about this great facility.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We selected this motel from the "Doers & Dreamers" guide for our last night in Nova Scotia because it was one of the few in the Peggy's Cove area and in our price range. From the description I expected an older motel probably across the road from the water - one that would provide shelter and not much more. What a wonderful surprise this was. Yes, it's older, but very clean and situated on the water side of the road with a fantastic view of boat activity in the small harbor and ocean beyond. Two adirondeck chairs on a stony outcropping above the water's edge invited us to quiet relaxation as we absorbed the special scenery. We had enjoyed Nova Scotia, but the touristy centers had a sense of articiciality about them. Here, in Indian Harbor, at the Clify Cove Motel we felt we were seeing the "real" Nova Scotia, made moreso by the genuine helpfulness and hospitality of the motel owner.

If you are looking for "creature comforts," this motel is probably not for you. But if you want a clean, comfortable room with a sitting area, table and chairs in front of a window looking out on a working harbor and you want to get away typical tourist places, the Clifty Cove is a welcome, genuine "retreat." We would have loved to stay a week, but as it was, our one night was a fitting and delightful climax to our three-week trip.

Note: Eating establishments are limited as are their hours, so plan accordingly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Savelia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This was a gem of a find. The room was very simple and tasteful, so clean and comfortable. Yasmilla (I hope I am spelling her name correctly), the owner, was very warm and friendly and accomodating, making sure we had everything we needed. The ocean view and the sunsets we saw on the two nights we stayed were stunning. I would highly recommend this place to any traveler!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed for two nights. It was very nice place to stay with ocean view. Rooms were nice, clean and comfortable. Quiet motel with great hospitality. The manager was very friendly and welcoming. We certainly will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jana b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Older but spotless. Very friendly managers. 3 Minutes from Peggy's cove.
Good value for your money.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnhenrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. The bedding smelled of fresh washed laundry. The motel is right on St. Margaret's Bay...close enough to listen to the waves at night.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trishladish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Harbour
15.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake
15.8 mi away
Coastal Inn Halifax
Coastal Inn Halifax
#23 of 28 in Halifax
121 reviews
20.7 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#2 of 6 in Lunenburg
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Chateau Bedford
Chateau Bedford
#13 of 28 in Halifax
324 reviews
3.7 mi away
Big Lake Lodge
Big Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Big Lake
41 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oceanstone Resort
Oceanstone Resort
#1 of 3 in Indian Harbour
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifty Cove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifty Cove Motel

Address: 8444 Peggys Cove Rd | Peggy's Cove Area, Indian Harbour, Nova Scotia B3Z 3R1, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Indian Harbour
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Indian Harbour
Price Range: $101 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Clifty Cove Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Clifty Cove Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifty Cove Hotel Indian Harbour
Clifty Cove Motel Nova Scotia/Indian Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing