We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oceanstone Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Clifty Cove Motel(Indian Harbour)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Big Lake Lodge(Big Lake)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveler rating
127
42
12
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
127
42
12
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswood stoverhubarb restaurantpeggy's covefire pitgrey owlnova scotialobster boilthe cottageswedding coordinatorentire weekendromantic weekendcozy roombridal partyocean waveslarge balconypots and pansfront office
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 190 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2010

We arrived at Oceanstone quite late in the evening, but was still welcomed warmly. We stayed in the top room of a green building.
The room has very simple decor, but was comfortable and clean. It had a small sitting area, two beds, seperated by french doors, and a bathroom with a door (a bit weird) going outside onto a patio.
The location was amazing! It is write on the water front, and very nice if you like beachcombing. We went down on the rocks and had lots of fun exploring the bay. You can see Peggy's Cove on a clear day, giving this place a wonderful and quaint vibe.
I would recommend this hotel to friends because of it's beautiful location, friendly staff and comfortable rooms!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beanie217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We went as guests for a wedding at Oceanstone Inn and Cottages and stayed for 2 nights. I think it is possibly the most romantic setting for a wedding, honeymoon or anniversary. It is a little on the side of pricey but for all that we had during our stay, it was worth it in the end.

The grounds are very well maintained, the staff are pleasant and helpful and the views of the ocean, especially the sunsets, are indescribably beautiful. The cottage that we stayed in (The Pines) was a perfect gem and as soon as we walked in, it felt like coming home. One look at the beds and you just knew that they would be comfortable!

The cottage's kitchen was fully stocked with dishes and cookware and organic Fair Trade coffee was provided (there is grocery shopping nearby). Housekeeping does come in daily to exchage towels, empty garbage, compost and recycling bins and to do a quick tidying up (they'll pull the blankets back up on the bed and wipe down the bathroom sink and kitchen counter if you've left crumbs). I really appreciated that they are very environmentally concious and that they avoid using harsh cleaners when at all possible.

The wedding was beautiful and the setting (oceanside) was spectacular. Oceanstone's onsite coordinator did a seemingly great job communicating the couple's wishes with the rest of the staff. The meals prepared by the Rhubarb Grill (barbecue the day before the wedding, the wedding supper and the midnight luncheon) were elegant and delicious (even the pizza was "gourmet"!).

Oceanstone's staff went out of their way to make sure that everything was perfect, and it was. We have some very happy memories of our stay here.

NOTE: For those wishing to do some sightseeing while in the area, Peggy's Cove is less than 10 minutes away and the Swiss Air Memorial is also worth the stop. There are several art galleries in the area that showcase and sell art made by local artists. We stopped at a few of the roadside shops and even bought a handmade hammock chair. (The owner even makes his own rope! He's very knowledgeable and friendly and offered us driving tips and shortcuts as we were leaving the area when we stopped in).

All in all, a fantastic place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alberta-Travel-Grl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

We had a terrible experience at Oceanstone and would discourage anyone from going there. After viewing the properties on their website, we chose Green House because it was larger than the others that were available. The map shows that it's not nestled with the other cottages, but makes it look as though it's in the woods nearby. When my sister called about it, the guy she spoke to said it was actually on a road, but said this road was so quiet he 'could lie down on it right now.'

In fact, the house is on the main highway leading to Peggy's Cove, on a blind hill, with the front door about 100 feet from the road and not even a spindly shrub acting as a fence. The downstairs front windows don't have curtains or blinds, which provides visitors with the pleasure of uninterrupted traffic-watching.

There was no way my stepson could cross the road by himself to see my nieces and nephews, on what was meant to be a family holiday. We discovered all of this upon arrival from the UK for our long-anticipated Nova Scotia holiday.

Staff at reception were pleasant but unhelpful. We made it clear that we were extremely upset and unhappy, especially given how far we'd come. No one had the authority to address the situation, and they all became cagey and evasive when we asked to speak to the owners. Their main role seemed to be to protect her from customers and our petty problems. When she eventually turned up, the only gestures we were offered were a complimentary eco-walk or alternative accommodation 2 km away.

The continental breakfast was utterly chaotic, with a single harassed-looking young woman serving a roomful of increasingly-irritated customers. Basic things were missing each day, eg jam, and there weren't nearly enough seats. Solutions were provisional and thoughtless - such as having 3,5, and 7 year old children sit in the Great Room, where they'd have to scramble up and down the stairs with their plates, glasses, and cutlery. It was clear that not a second's thought had been given to who was actually resident at the complex or the size of the parties. As in all things Oceanstone we were left to fend for ourselves.

One day we were told that no more coffee was available because plumbers had arrived during the (very short) breakfast service and decided it was the right time to turn off the water. Apparently, no one at Oceanstone had the courage or authority to suggest that they wait 15 minutes until breakfast was over.

This is what happens when owners aren't around, and don't empower staff who are available to make decisions for themselves. I've rarely seen such poor management, and such a lack of concern about whether we'd ever come back or would recommend the place. I would do neither.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank punkyinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erniemac, Owner at Oceanstone Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2010

Sounds like you were caught in a perfect storm when you were here. Sorry about that. Being human, we do drop balls now and again but, as other reviews here will show, never to that degree. If you ever visit our shores again, I invite you to call me (Ron) personally and I (we) will make sure you have the kind of memorable visit you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

The 5 nights we spent at Oceanstone was like going back in time; a time when the pace was slower and people took the time to talk to one another.

We stayed in Room 4, a bit small, but comfortable nevertheless. That queen-size bed would have even put an insomniac to sleep. It was great with nice, cool ocean breezes putting each night.

A small library provided ample reading material.

The continental bvreakfast was a superb combination of breakfast foods and fresh fruit, attended by a pleasant and conversant wait staff.

Sitting in an Adirondack chair to watch sunset over the bay each night was a grand view.

We were especially taken with the staff. An obviously happy member of the housekeeping staff greeted me each morning with "Good morning Honey, I hope your day goes well." What a nice lady!

All in all a nice experienmce. Very quiet and not for singles.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank out2c19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2008

We spent 4 nights here celebrating our 21st wedding anniversary topped off by a memorable dinner at the facility's Rhubarb Grill. Our cottage was called Dovekey, which has a dead center view of a nearby lighthouse from the living room. Awakening to the sounds of the sea and buoys, making our own beach fire at the cottage pit, watching an otter make its way on the beach one night: these are all impressions left by our time at this peaceful spot. Don't forget to journey an hour plus to the fishing village of Lunenburg , a UNESCO site with a great fishery museum, and the town of Mahone Bay. Lovely beaches are found on route 3 : Queensland, Cleveland are good examples.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stonewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews