We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, good food”

Fleur-de-Lis Tea Room and Dining Room
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $14
Cuisines: Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Fleur-de-Lis offers a true taste of Cape Breton. Eat-in, take-out, or catering available. Affordable home-style options that are never deep-fried. We can cater to your dietary needs such as vegetarian, gluten-free, dairy free, etc. We have an extensive menu of Scottish, Acadian, and other local favorites - there is something for every taste! Best variety of salads in Cape Breton!
New Brunswick
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice staff, good food”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Friendly staff with home cooked food. Good portions and great value. Everything was fresh and prepared on-site. Family run, establishment so the profits stay in Cape Breton.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FreddyBeach313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbhalifax, Manager at Fleur-de-Lis Tea Room and Dining Room, responded to this review, December 26, 2014
Thanks for your support and your review! We pride ourselves in keeping profits local - and we support local food vendors too :) thanks so much!! Cheers, Brenda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    54
    11
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good value, tasty home cooking”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Not much in the way of atmosphere, but a good meal at a great value. No beer or wine, sorry not to have a cold beer to go with the fish cakes. Kraft tartar sauce is served all over Cape breton in little packets, wish some of these folks would come up with some good tartar to go with the good food! My fish cakes were short on fish, but my husband had the haddock which was delicious. Mashed turnips were yummy and a nice change.
Breakfast menu looked great. Clean, good service, nice folks!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GretaBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbhalifax, Manager at Fleur-de-Lis Tea Room and Dining Room, responded to this review, December 26, 2014
We were so happy you stopped in to give us a try!!! Your review is so nice - it made us blush :)
Thanks for taking the time! Cheers, Brenda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennice, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Breakfast for dinner!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband ordered the always wonderful fish cakes, but I had a taste for eggs. The meat lovers breakfast was the answer. The sausage was juicy and flavorful, the bacon was meaty and crisp, and the ham was lean and no too salty. Eggs were done just right, and to make it really perfect, they offered gluten-free bread, which is always a pleasant surprise.

I'd give this place excellent ratings on service, food, and value, but the scoring buttons will only record average. This place is better than just average.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GingerBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbhalifax, Manager at Fleur-de-Lis Tea Room and Dining Room, responded to this review, December 26, 2014
Thanks for your review! Breakfast for Dinner is always nice!! I have a gluten sensitivity myself so its important to cater to all kinds of health restrictions - we certainly do care that everyone can come in and enjoy a meal despite their dietary limitations :) If you tell us about your needs we can do our best to meet them! thanks and come back any time! Cheers, Brenda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamson, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Scotch Toast!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Really good food here. Had the Scotch Toast for breakfast and it was so good. The dish consists of French Toast that is dipped in oats before being grilled. Drizzle it with CB maple syrup and it is to die for! Fleur-de-Lis is a comfortable place with good food and good value.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mabougal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbhalifax, Manager at Fleur-de-Lis Tea Room and Dining Room, responded to this review, December 26, 2014
Scottish toast is definitely unique to the Fleur-de-Lis :) Glad you liked it - and we can grill you up a batch anytime you are in town! We will look forward to seeing you again, thanks for your review!!
Cheers, Brenda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hawkesbury, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cape Breton Breakfast”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Although I live in the area, when deciding where to eat the Fleur-de-Lis always got overlooked until I woke up late on Sunday and was trying to figure out where I could still get breakfast. A friend of mine suggested the restaurant so that's where we went. The Cape Breton Breakfast was awesome!! The homemade bread that they used for my toast was a perfect compliment to the ham, home fries, and scrambled eggs. The staff there were great as well and worked so well together that they seemed more like family.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbhalifax, Manager at Fleur-de-Lis Tea Room and Dining Room, responded to this review, December 26, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your Cape Breton breakfast!! Its nice to have the option of having your breakfast any time of the day! Thanks for your review - and take care! Cheers, Brenda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fleur-de-Lis Tea Room and Dining Room also viewed

Port Hawkesbury, Cape Breton Island
Port Hawkesbury, Cape Breton Island
 
Port Hawkesbury, Cape Breton Island
Port Hawkesbury, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Fleur-de-Lis Tea Room and Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing