We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay....I guess”

China King Family Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Mentone, AL
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Okay....I guess”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

There wasn't a big choice on a Sunday evening. Although China King was rated #1, it really isn't that good. I ordered off the buffet. Some of the items tasted all right, I did not like the egg rolls. My husband ordered "Canadian" food and boy! He received two large hamburger steak patties, a large portion of french fries and some vegetables. He said it all tasted good. The service was really good, and things there were clean.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank carollyn50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    19
    11
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whycocomagh
1 review
“Great family dining”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Service and food at the China King are excellent, with very reasonable prices. Chinese and Canadian food well prepared and very prompt service by friendly staff.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MacDonaldFamily_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hawkesbury
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Safe Place to Eat”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Being a person with Celiac Desease, I have to be careful I eat no foods containing barley, rye or wheat. During the past five years I have found China King Family Restaurant in Port Hawkesbury to be a place where I can safely eat without being rushed to a hospital. The hotess has carefully checked and showed exactly which dishes of their buffet that I may eat. If I eat off the menue instead of from the buffet, she makes sure what I order is safe for me.

I find the food to be well prepared, delicious to taste and leaves one with the feeling to come back at a later date. As a result, I try to eat at that restaurant at least once a week; some times twice. Many of my friends and relatives are aware I enjoy China King food, so frequently give me gift certificates to that restaurant for special occasions in my life, or take me out to eat there. I also take friends and relatives to eat there.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lester M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“You get more than what you paid for”
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

We had the buffet. Good variety of standard Chinese food. The taste was not bad. The young lady at the counter and also cleared the plates was very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank ArtNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Mainland Nova Scotia
2 reviews
“Sooo Good! I usually eat there once a week!”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Often make the 2 hour return trip for no other reason than the chance to once again pile my plate high with the delicious offerings from the All You Can Eat Buffet! Often as I enjoy the meal, my eyes are closed, all the better to concentrate on the great variety of wonderful flavors.
Recently it was suggested that I try another similar restaurant in town that was "better", so I gave it a try. My experience at that other similar eatery nailed two words in my mind, the second word was "again", the first word "never"! There was totally no comparison! Tonight I was back at China King for the very best Chinese buffet in Eastern Nova Scotia!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China King Family Restaurant also viewed

Port Hawkesbury, Cape Breton Island
Port Hawkesbury, Cape Breton Island
 
Port Hawkesbury, Cape Breton Island
Port Hawkesbury, Cape Breton Island
 
Port Hawkesbury, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to China King Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing