We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleanest Hotel EVER!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Hawkesbury
North Sydney, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cleanest Hotel EVER!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This hotel was by far the cleanest that I/we have had the pleasure of staying in. EVER! So clean in fact that we are planning future visits to their local venues (concerts and shows) knowing that we will have a wonderful stay in such a great hotel. The Pub on site has a great menu and quality of food. The staff were very accommodating and pleasant! And did I tell you how clean it was! Spotless, I know, I checked! I could not find a spot of anything anywhere! The management should be very proud of their staff!

I respect to the questions below we did not make use of the spa, nor did we go to the breakfast buffet.. We did have the breakfast to go in the comfort of our room. It was terrific.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy B, Guest Relations Manager at Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful response of our hotel. I'am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit here with us and appreciated the level of service that we provide! We will look forward to your next visit, and again thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    77
    42
    10
    5
See reviews for
27
45
7
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I was introduced to this place when my friends and I were looking for accommodation for two nights of our holiday reunion after about 40 years! We are four women who first met in BC in 1969 so by definition we are not young. We had discovered the wonderful Canadian hotel tradition of having two double beds in many of the rooms. This meant that we had a double bed each and could manage with only two rooms which of course helped the budget. Pleasing four older women is not easy but this place met our needs. I was tired at the end of a three month trip and wanted to stay in the same place for two nights so that i could have a day off from driving. I love the Canadian hotel system of having a guest laundry at a reasonable price and an ice machine for guests. oi wish we did those things here in Oz.

The desk and housekeeping staff at this hotel were particularly high quality. I have no hesitation in recommending it. We were introduced to it through its partner in Antigonish which I assume is of similar quality given that the desk assistance we had there was superb.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy B, Guest Relations Manager at Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments, we appreciate your feedback. I am very happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us in Port Hawkesbury, and hope that if you come back to Nova Scotia that you will come to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gander, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Excellent stay, clean rooms, friendly staff, great bar and restaurant. About an hour after we left the hotel I had realized that I left my iPhone charger in the room. Called them up and they shipped it out to my home address at no charge. Received it two days after I got home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper2672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Certianly not a fancy hotel, but serves the purpose as a neat, clean place to stay in this very small community. The location is ideal. Close to all resaurants and shops. I stay here frequently for work. By far the best accommondations in town>

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hawkesbury, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Had to travel to Port Hawksbury to take a course at NSCC and had the luxury of staying at the Maritime Inn. The rooms were clean and well maintained, but most importantly had the opportunity to be served by "Trish" at Miller's. She was one of the most professional servers that I have come across for quite some time. I have been in the hospitality industry for over 20 years and I must say she can be a true example of why I got into this business in the first place. Thank you Trish, you made my stay most enjoyable..."Trish Rocks"...!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ernie222013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a nice hotel which serves a good breakfast but what makes it stand out is the excellent staff that works there. They are very friendly and accommodating and willing to go that extra mile for their guests, literally. My wife and I were staying there for our daughter's wedding and had arrived at the church, which was about 20 minutes away, waiting for the ceremony to begin. It was then discovered that some of the flowers for the bride's parents and grandmother were left behind at the hotel. We called the front desk to ask if they could get the flowers out of the room and send them by taxi to the church. The person at the front desk, Donna Carrigan, not only got the flowers but personally brought them to us in her own vehicle. This kind deed saved us valuable time, considering the church was full and I am sure people were starting to wonder what the delay was. It was a very thoughtful gesture which we greatly appreciated and won't soon forget.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hughie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights and found it very comfortable. The room rate was reasonable and the rooms were well sized and clean. We did not do much apart from sleep here (we were at a family wedding) but this was more than good enough for that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W1Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hawkesbury
1.7 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury
Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury
#2 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
69 reviews
66.0 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
66.3 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.8 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
589 reviews
88.0 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
1.1 mi away
Mackenzie House Tourist Home
Mackenzie House Tourist Home
#3 of 5 in Port Hawkesbury
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury

Property: Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Address: 717 Reeves St, Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia B9A 2S2, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Port Hawkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Hawkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury is conveniently located at the entry to Cape Breton Island, just 8 minutes from Cape Breton’s Canso Causeway on Reeves St Port Hawkesbury. This Canada Select and Nova Scotia Approved hotel serves as a great base for a memorable Cape Breton vacation featuring the Cabot Trail, Louisbourg and many other points of interest. Ask about our Cape Breton Treasure Hunt Touring Guide. Enjoy full service Taste of Nova Scotia approved dining at Miller's Cafe and Miller's Tap and Grill, open seven days a week.   Accommodations include 73 air-conditioned smoke-free units (drive-up Queens, executive wing Kings; twin Doubles and one 2-bedroom suite); each features a 4-piece bath, flat-screen LCD TV, complimentary secure wireless Internet, and complimentary self-parking. Cot, air mattresses and playpen are available upon advance request, additional charges may apply. Other amenities include a licensed, air-conditioned lounge, newly renovated heated indoor pool, outdoor patio, meeting/banquet rooms, laundry services, fitness centre. Pets are permitted, additional charges apply. We are proud to be the only full service 4 star accommodations in the area, and members of the Tourism Industry Association of Nova Scotia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury Hotel Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing