We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Hawkesbury
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Good solid clean room. Its not fancy but it works.

The restaurant has a nice selection of items with a special every night. Usually there is a lighter fare item. The breakfast on the run is a great value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank powerplantop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 189 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

Conveniently located in the centre of town near all the restaurants, strip malls, etc. Room was clean and had the usual amenities (hair dryer, iron, ironing boad, soap/shampoo, etc.). TV had full cable but no on demand movies.

I was surprised that the hotel had a pool and fitness centre, and it's own restaurant. No free breakfast buffet, however.

Paid $89/night on a Monday night.

Bed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage to lug and like a quiet room, ask for one on the first floor, which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tshep42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This town doesn't have a lot of options to choose from and this place is ok. Nothing special about it but the bed was comfortable. The rate would be better if it had included breakfast. Bathroom needed updating. No real character - just basic.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saver12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy B, Guest Relations Manager at Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly appreciate feedback from our guests so that we can make improvements and make your stay a memorable one. We have undergone renovations in 2010 in some of our rooms, which include a renovated bathroom, flat screen tv's as well as rooms with refridgerators. If you so choose to visit our property again, we would be happy to try to accommodate you with one of these rooms. I am happy to hear you found the bedding comfortable. Again, thank you for your review and we hope that you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Price high for quality of accommodation , no complimentary coffee, only the one in my room, I stay at better hotel/inn with complimentary breakfast., room was$117, plus tax, breakfast and supper, total cost of around $200. TV is old, picture quality, poor, lucky that I didn't watch tv, not a place for me and my wife, for business is ok. Wi-Fi ok

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank Jeggau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy B, Guest Relations Manager at Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

We are sorry for your disappointing visit here at our property in Port Hawkesbury.
We appreciate your comments as all feedback we receive helps us to improve our guests stay. Some of our rooms have been recently renovated with new flat screen tvs and fridges, I hope that if you do so choose to visit us again we could try to place you in one of these rooms. Again, thank you for your response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed here overnight while on business in Port Hawkesbury. The location was good, the rate was decent, and the staff were friendly. The room I was in was clean, comfortable, and quiet, although, my coworker, who stayed at the other end of the hallway complained about the noisy room above him. We ate at the attached restaurant for dinner and breakfast, which was fast and surprisingly good. I will stay here again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy B, Guest Relations Manager at Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for your comments of our property. We are always pleased to hear when our guests enjoy their stay. We are however sorry to hear that your co-worker had noisy neighbors and hope next time it will be more pleasant. We look forward to your return, and thank you again for your response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Spent 5 days during Grand Slam of curling. Room nice and clean, well maintained and comfortable. Excellent friendly and accommodating staff. Restaurant was great--Donair Nachos--only in Cape Breton--you just have to try it!
It was some cold outside but the Cape Breton hospitality warmed us up.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy B, Guest Relations Manager at Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit for the Grand Slam of curling. It's great to hear you found the service here friendly and accommodating, we aim to please our guests, and make your stay an enjoyable one.

Thank you again for your kind comments, and we hope you visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great, wonderful. Stayed in front room to left at end. For a room facing the street nice and quiet,clean, and cozie. The manager Larry MacNeil helped us plan our trip around Cape Breton. We went to Louis berg, Miners museumin Glace Bay. Cabot Trail. Had a great time

Room Tip: Just tell the desk clerk what you are looking for . It worked for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swampnort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIPH, Guest Relations Manager at Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We are glad that you had a good trip around Cape Breton and enjoyed our historic sites. Our General Manager, Larry McLean is always very courteous and helpful with guests. We hope you will come back to visit us in the near future.

Thank you for your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hawkesbury
1.7 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury
Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury
#2 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
96 reviews
66.0 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
66.3 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Dundee Resort & Golf Club
43.7 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
675 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cove Motel
Cove Motel
#1 of 3 in Port Hastings
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury

Address: 717 Reeves St, Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia B9A 2S2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Port Hawkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Hawkesbury
Price Range: $118 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury is conveniently located at the entry to Cape Breton Island, just 8 minutes from Cape Breton’s Canso Causeway on Reeves St Port Hawkesbury. This Canada Select and Nova Scotia Approved hotel serves as a great base for a memorable Cape Breton vacation featuring the Cabot Trail, Louisbourg and many other points of interest. Ask about our Cape Breton Treasure Hunt Touring Guide. Enjoy full service Taste of Nova Scotia approved dining at Miller's Cafe and Miller's Tap and Grill, open seven days a week. Accommodations include 73 air-conditioned smoke-free units (drive-up Queens, executive wing Kings; twin Doubles and one 2-bedroom suite); each features a 4-piece bath, flat-screen LCD TV, complimentary secure wireless Internet, and complimentary self-parking. Cot, air mattresses and playpen are available upon advance request, additional charges may apply. Other amenities include a licensed, air-conditioned lounge, newly renovated heated indoor pool, outdoor patio, meeting/banquet rooms, laundry services, fitness centre. Pets are permitted, additional charges apply. We are proud to be the only full service 4 star accommodations in the area, and members of the Tourism Industry Association of Nova Scotia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury Hotel Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing