We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Hawkesbury
Middleburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here just one night. The pictures are better than the hotel. It is outdated, but nice. The room was large but a little musty. We thought it was a little overpriced for what you got, but it was a nice stay. Probably would stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbwalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIPH, General Manager at Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate honest responses as they help us to improve. We are sorry to hear that given the opportunity you would not stay with us again. We have been renovating but unfortunatly not all rooms have been updated completely. If you do decide to stay with us again I would recomend trying one our premiere or signiture rooms, which have been completely renovated. Once again thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    79
    42
    11
    5
See reviews for
29
46
7
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We recently stayed at the Maritime Inn for the first time. The hotel is conveniently located on the main street, close to many of the shops/restaurants/activities. We had booked the 2 bedroom suite, and were thoroughly impressed. The beds were very comfortable, and the suite was very modern/clean. The suite has 2 actual bedrooms (with doors that close), a bathroom, a livingroom, and a great kitchenette. The kitchenette has an actual table/chairs, full sized fridge (not a bar fridge), microwave, kitchen sink, counter space, cupboards, and dishes/cutlery. The suite was a fantastic room for families.

We didn't eat at the restaurant(s), but the kids thoroughly enjoyed the indoor pools. There is a larger pool (entry depth 3 feet, gradually gets deeper), but there was also a separate toddler pool that was only 18 inches or so deep.

We would definitely book the 2 bedroom suite again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdnrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIPH, General Manager at Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for the great comments. They are greatly appreciated. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the suite and the pools. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Port Hawkesbury is a small town just off the causeway in Cape Breton, NS. Considering it's a small town, it has a number of hotel/motels in town. The maritime is an older property, that needs some TLC but it was not horrible. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable but the furnishings and TV are outdated. There is a pool with a sauna and a nice size gym onsite. There are 2 restaurants, one used for breakfast and lunch, and the Miller tap and grill for dinner. My first experience at the Tap was not great but the service I got from Andrea on my send visit was fantastic. Considering the limited options, I will return to this hotel. For people travelling on vacation, I would recommend travelling further up the road to Baddeck, I saw some beautiful places to stay up there.

Room Tip: There is no Elevator, but they have rooms on the 1st and 2nd floor that exit to the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel. It was a decent price considering how big the room was. It was well furnished, quiet, clean, comfy beds. The location is excellent; it’s near gas stations, fast food places, food stores, drug stores – all in walking distance too! The staff was friendly and helpful.
Overall we don’t have any complaints about this hotel and would recommend it to anyone spending the night in Port Hawkesbury.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walshnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed here before driving the Cabot Trail, the room was very clean, well furnished and great linens. We didn't eat at the hotel and were disappointed breakfast wasn't included but all in all a reliable hotel with friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Footsloggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stay here quite often, maybe 10 to 12 times per year.
I have allways found the rooms clean and the staff pleasent and helpfull.
Not alot of options to entertain children but for a one night stay or business a great option.
My only complaint would be the loung restaurent, didn't enjoy the menu.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel,less trafic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

Easy to find & the rooms are typical for a semi-modern motel. Rooms were clean & the service good. The adjoining restaurant was really good - good food, good service, & reasonable prices :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ironlady_2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hawkesbury
1.7 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury
Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury
#2 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
72 reviews
66.0 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
66.3 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.8 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#1 of 7 in Baddeck
606 reviews
66.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
1.1 mi away
Mackenzie House Tourist Home
Mackenzie House Tourist Home
#3 of 5 in Port Hawkesbury
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury

Property: Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Address: 717 Reeves St, Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia B9A 2S2, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Port Hawkesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Port Hawkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury is conveniently located at the entry to Cape Breton Island, just 8 minutes from Cape Breton’s Canso Causeway on Reeves St Port Hawkesbury. This Canada Select and Nova Scotia Approved hotel serves as a great base for a memorable Cape Breton vacation featuring the Cabot Trail, Louisbourg and many other points of interest. Ask about our Cape Breton Treasure Hunt Touring Guide. Enjoy full service Taste of Nova Scotia approved dining at Miller's Cafe and Miller's Tap and Grill, open seven days a week. Accommodations include 73 air-conditioned smoke-free units (drive-up Queens, executive wing Kings; twin Doubles and one 2-bedroom suite); each features a 4-piece bath, flat-screen LCD TV, complimentary secure wireless Internet, and complimentary self-parking. Cot, air mattresses and playpen are available upon advance request, additional charges may apply. Other amenities include a licensed, air-conditioned lounge, newly renovated heated indoor pool, outdoor patio, meeting/banquet rooms, laundry services, fitness centre. Pets are permitted, additional charges apply. We are proud to be the only full service 4 star accommodations in the area, and members of the Tourism Industry Association of Nova Scotia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury Hotel Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing