We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Nearby Hotels
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gagnon House(Port Hawkesbury)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cove Motel(Port Hastings)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveler rating
39
94
50
12
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
94
50
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleancabot trailpool and fitness centerattached restauranthd channelscold nightrecommend this hotelfamily restaurantthe hotel is conveniently locatedserved hotfirst floorking bedyour luggagehousekeeping staffbottom floorcoffee maker and fridgecape breton
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 201 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Had 2 rooms for myself and sister and brother-inlaw. The rooms were clean and roomy good place to stop after the Cabot Trail. Had breakfast there and was good and reasonable price. The rooms were reasonably priced. The swimming pool was not heated, water was quite cold.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tazlin6560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We thought "best surprise is no surprise" but no.

We had booked a "deluxe executive suite with a balcony" and a cot in the room. At The Maritime Inn a room has a bed, an"executive suite" has a bed and a chair and a "deluxe executive suite" has a bed and two chairs. Don't be fooled by talk of a "sitting area".

Our room was not ready at check in and still not ready when we had to leave for the wedding at almost 4 o'clock, even though they had let most of the housekeeping staff leave for the day. We came back at 1 o'clock in the morning to be told that they had not put a cot in the room as booked and confirmed and that all cots were locked away and they could offer us an air mattress that we would have to make up ourselves. We paid an unbelievable 145 plus tax a night and to put it into perspective we just booked the Sofitel Heathrow terminal 5 for 127. Halifax has many nicer hotels for under 145, so does the South Shore of Nova Scotia and the Valley

The front desk staff were very nice but obviously the management just don't get it in this part of the world that hospitality and value for the dollar is very important in the hotel business.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haligone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 25, 2011

Please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointing visit with our property in Port Hawkesbury. The problem with the late check - in and not having a cot in the room as reserved, was a failure on our part. Please be aware that this quality of service is not typical. We strive for a high standard of service, unfortunately we did not meet that standard and for that we are truly sorry. Over the last number of years we have been making improvements to our rooms and public areas in a phased approach, if you were to revisit our property i assure you that you would find significant changes. We carefully consider many factors in setting our rates, including the need to continue to upgrade our product and service standards. Our goal continues to be that, we will provide the best accommodations in our rural area at a fair price.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We drove across Canada from Vancouver Island. and found that this hotel was very welcoming to our Two Weimaraners and treated us with the upmost respect and did the most to make our stay their as comfortable and relaxing as possible.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2weimaraners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

While it was a little on the expensive side, we had a newly remodeled room and very comfortable beds. The staff was very helpful. There is a guest laundry on site. The pool and fitness center are a little dated, but very functional.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beach137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

When we stayed there, my room was in the basement, and we could not park down there due to renos. Thats ok. but everything else way not a good experience. The pipes were clanking in my room on arrival, and there was a banging noise , which I thought was the construction workers inthe room beside mine. I called front desk and they said there was no noise. I complained several times, and the banging continued into the night and into the morning. I was cranky about the whole experience. It was expensive for the quality of room,. The room directly beside mine had the door wide open and all the walls were exposed and there was a VERY cold wind blowing right through this room into the hallway and into my room. Renovating I understand. renting a room beside a completely gutted room, with no parking, a banging noise all night long, and garbage outside and dumpsters for a view, i dont understand.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melanie112078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 25, 2011

Please accept our apologies for your disappointing stay at our property. In a phased approach we have been making improvements to our rooms and public areas, which includes, new windows and heating, air conditioning units. Weekdays are quite busy for our property and often need all rooms that are available, even during renovations. We always ask our contractors to work only from 8:00am until 5:00pm daily. Guests should have been notified of the renovations when the reservation was made as well as upon check - in. We rarely have problems with noise in the evening and again we apologize for this. Thank you for your comments, they are greatly appreciated.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews