We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed travelers”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Hawkesbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harbourview B&B and Motel
Reviewed September 10, 2009

On a long planned Labor Day week end trip to Nova Scotia, we contacted the Harbourview B & B and Motel in Port Hawkesbury on Breton Island based on the TripAdvisor reviews. TA enthused further that for $54/ night we would have quite a wonderful place to stay and eat. Calling over a day early on our own dime (no toll free offered), a woman affirmed an opening but denied that Harbourview ever had a $54 room rate. After taxes, we were quoted just under $100 (Canadian) for lodging the next evening. We agreed and dutifully provided our credit car number and cell phone. “Call if you are to be here after 10PM,” she said. Arriving at 7:45PM the next evening, over two hours early, we were bushed from 10 hours of travel by car and most eager for some rest. “We have a problem here as your credit card number did not register,” said the lady, implying that I was somehow trying to cheat; I pulled out the VISA card and, sure enough, she had written down one number incorrectly and had given our evening’s abode to someone else! No call to us, no ownership of a mistake and absolutely no apology. On her suggestion, we went to the Gagnon House for the night and were pleased. Harbourview, that’s no way to treat a customer anywhere; shame on the woman manager!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank FCS_4756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 60 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2009

My son, wife and I stayed one night in one of the motel units. The property is located by the Strait of Canso. The room was clean and just enough for 3 adults. We arrived in late afternoon when one of the guests dressed in Scottish costumes playing windpipe on the large deck facing the water with a nice sunset. Luckily we did hear any train at night. Breakfast was average. In my view, it is still a bit pricey considering the living cost in the area. We paid almost $100 for the night, on par with a chain hotel in a large city.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkRegionYnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

This B & B is on the waterfront with partially industrial water views over the Strait of Canso. It's simple, clean and inexpensive. There's a small fridge and a microwave in a small kitchen area. The rooms are behind the old house and have a trailer feel. The dead bolt lock was broken, but the satellite TV worked. The breakfast buffet was okay, but not exceptional; the bed was just okay also. Bath towels are a bit small, but we didn't hear any trains during our one night stay. Not the place to spend a week, but perfectly fine for a quick stop over.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2007

We stayed in one of the motel units at the back which was very comfortable. Our room had a queen size bed, couch, kitchen table and chairs as well as a mini kitchen (fridge, microwave, sink - no dishes or cutlery). The room was clean as was the bathroom but everything was very basic. A small TV wall mounted on a homemade stand, a sloping bathroom floor (so the door always swung open), etc. but if you’re not looking for luxurious accommodation then it’s more than adequate!

Our breakfast was served in the main house and consisted of eggs, bacon, sausage, toast, cereal, juice, coffee/tea, fruit, etc. Nice selection and everything was very good. The breakfast room has a large table (seats 8 people) and then a few smaller tables seating 2 people. A great set-up allowing people to choose if they want to sit with others or at a private table.

There are train tracks behind the property but luckily the only train we saw was mid-morning so it wasn’t an issue for us.

Both hosts were very friendly and John was very helpful with travel recommendations. We would stay here again and felt that it was good value for the money. It’s also great if you’re traveling on a budget since you could prepare simple meals in your room.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank daisey_1_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2007

A lovely B&B/motel operation: the room was spotlessly clean, and the view was great. Unfortunately the website for the B&B didn't mention that there was a railway running right behind the rear unit of the motel where we were staying ... running during day and night, quite loudly! Other than that, we loved our stay here. Hosts very friendly, and the house has been restored in a very attractive way.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayjo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2006

At the top of our list for value per cost. Nice and clean accommodations, good breakfast and pleasant hosts.

2  Thank By_His_Grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Alexandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hawkesbury
1.1 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury
Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury
#2 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
96 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
#1 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
187 reviews
14.8 mi away
Dundee Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
66.8 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
66.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
0.6 mi away
Mackenzie House Tourist Home
Mackenzie House Tourist Home
#4 of 5 in Port Hawkesbury
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview B&B and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview B&B and Motel

Address: 209 Granville St, Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia B9A 2G4, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Port Hawkesbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Port Hawkesbury
Price Range: $36 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Bed & Breakfast is a restored Provincial Heritage Property that was built in 1880 for Ferry Captain James Embree. The property is located on the water with a large enclosed patio overlooking the Strait of Canso and conveniently located next to the yacht club/marina, boardwalk, and Granville Green which offers free outdoor concerts on Sunday evenings in July and August. This is a great home base for your Cape Breton vacation featuring the legendary Cabot Trail, Fortress of Louisbourg, Alexander Graham Bell Museum & other attractions. The B&B main house accommodations include 2 guest rooms: one with a queen-size bed, private bath, satellite television, and air conditioning; and one with 2 double beds, private bath and air conditioning. Our motel accommodations include air conditioned guest units with queen size beds, (some also have a double size sofabed), a 4 piece bath, satellite television, fridge, and microwave. Breakfast is included with all rooms and all of our rooms are non-smoking. We offer free off street parking, free wireless internet access and coin operated guest laundry facilities. Sorry no pets are allowed. Visa, Mastercard, Direct Debit and cash are accepted. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbourview B&B And Motel Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing