We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and friendly B&B”
Review of Gagnon House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Hawkesbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gagnon House
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Beautiful and friendly B&B”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I spent a night here during a cycling trip across Nova Scotia, and I really enjoyed relaxing in such a beautiful home with a large sunny backyard patio and the two minute walk to the gorgeous shore of the Strait of Canso. The hosts are very kind, friendly, and conversational, and breakfast was both generous and delicious. Thanks for the great experience!

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank JamesR8913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
28
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We had an amazing experience from start to finish! This gem of a place was the perfect spot to relax on our honeymoon.
We spent one night in the room with a double bed and ensuite. They provided towels and we found the room very nice, clean and comfortable.
Judy & Daryl were so kind! They were very knowledgeable on the areas amenities and history. They recommended a great restaurant for dinner!
The breakfast was the best one we have had on our trip yet, and this was the first one that was included in the room price.
We would not hesitate to stay here again and in fact look forward to it! We will be recommending this spot to anyone we know traveling in the area!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbeecraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We spent a night here late August 2013 and found Gagnon House a very good place to rest our weary bodies after a day of travelling. Gagnon place was easy to find and located in a nice area.The room was very clean. The bed and pillows were very comfortable so we got a great night's sleep. The owner, Judy, was friendly and helpful with local information. She prepared an excellent breakfast for us to start another day of travelling.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLVM108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gr, michigan
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here on our motorcycle trip from Michigan to Nova Scotia. What a lovely and peaceful place! The room was in the host's home and though small, had so much appeal in its decor and cleanliness. We thoroughly enjoyed the hosts and the conversation! The breakfast was perfect!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cyclingduo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have stayed at many B&B's and I must say I was quite disappointed with the services offered for the cost at this one. The hosts are very nice people but they do not communicate as well as they should. We were sharing a bathroom with other guests which came as a surprise not only to us but also to the other guests. This was quite awkward and I even skipped having a shower in the morning as I was so uncomfortable with this, wondering if the other family needed in as breakfast is scheduled in the morning. There are also no amenities in the room such as a TV. Payment was also cash only which again we were not made aware of in advance and had to head out to the bank in order to pay them. While the lack of amenities may be acceptable, they charge what other accommodations do for including these features and the rooms are usually done up much nicer than ours. Our hosts were very kind and the breakfast was good but they do need to be clear on what they are offering and lower their costs to match their services.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JKLMN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were very pleased with Darrel and Judy we had a great breakfast with and good sleep after a long drive the room was very nice with a nice shower .Overall very happy with Gagnon house as first time B&Bers and would definitely stay again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevitrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haines City, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We spent three nights with Judy and Darrel at the Gagnon House B & B. We had never stayed at a B & B and had no idea what to expect. We were shown all three of their rooms and were given the choice of two upstairs that shared a bathroom. No one stayed in the second room so we ended up being a moot point. It was raining and cold so fairly early when we arrived and settled in. There was no TV in our room and we weren’t sure if we could go downstairs and watch TV so we just sat on the bed in our room and read. Due to cold, wind and rain we were actually back at the room quite early each night and ending up reading in our room each night.

This wasn't exactly what I expected of a B & B but really didn't know any better and didn't want to impose.

I have since been told that normally Innkeepers show you around the house and point out the public areas and private areas.

We had three nice breakfast meals while we were there. Judy and Darrel helped us with ideas on things to do and not do in the rain. They gave us driving and hiking advice and overall information about the area. On there advise we did visit the Alexander Graham Bell Museum which was great.

The location was good as we intended to visit Cape Breton Highlands National Park and drive the Cabot Trail, go to Louisbourg, and drive the other coast trails. The price was very reasonable, the room clean. We would stay with Judy and Darrel again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2old2work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hawkesbury
0.7 mi away
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
#1 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
168 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury
Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury
#2 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
72 reviews
69.9 mi away
Point of View Suites at Louisbourg Gates
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
66.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
14.8 mi away
Dundee Resort & Golf Club
66.8 mi away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gagnon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gagnon House

Property: Gagnon House
Address: 24 Philpott St, Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia B9A 2G9, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Port Hawkesbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Port Hawkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful treed property with green space, birds, and view of the Strait of Canso. Guests are welcome to sit and relax on either of the two decks on property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gagnon House Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing