We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lacking in some areas” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gagnon House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Hawkesbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gagnon House
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lacking in some areas”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have stayed at many B&B's and I must say I was quite disappointed with the services offered for the cost at this one. The hosts are very nice people but they do not communicate as well as they should. We were sharing a bathroom with other guests which came as a surprise not only to us but also to the other guests. This was quite awkward and I even skipped having a shower in the morning as I was so uncomfortable with this, wondering if the other family needed in as breakfast is scheduled in the morning. There are also no amenities in the room such as a TV. Payment was also cash only which again we were not made aware of in advance and had to head out to the bank in order to pay them. While the lack of amenities may be acceptable, they charge what other accommodations do for including these features and the rooms are usually done up much nicer than ours. Our hosts were very kind and the breakfast was good but they do need to be clear on what they are offering and lower their costs to match their services.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JKLMN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
27
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were very pleased with Darrel and Judy we had a great breakfast with and good sleep after a long drive the room was very nice with a nice shower .Overall very happy with Gagnon house as first time B&Bers and would definitely stay again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevitrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haines City, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We spent three nights with Judy and Darrel at the Gagnon House B & B. We had never stayed at a B & B and had no idea what to expect. We were shown all three of their rooms and were given the choice of two upstairs that shared a bathroom. No one stayed in the second room so we ended up being a moot point. It was raining and cold so fairly early when we arrived and settled in. There was no TV in our room and we weren’t sure if we could go downstairs and watch TV so we just sat on the bed in our room and read. Due to cold, wind and rain we were actually back at the room quite early each night and ending up reading in our room each night.

This wasn't exactly what I expected of a B & B but really didn't know any better and didn't want to impose.

I have since been told that normally Innkeepers show you around the house and point out the public areas and private areas.

We had three nice breakfast meals while we were there. Judy and Darrel helped us with ideas on things to do and not do in the rain. They gave us driving and hiking advice and overall information about the area. On there advise we did visit the Alexander Graham Bell Museum which was great.

The location was good as we intended to visit Cape Breton Highlands National Park and drive the Cabot Trail, go to Louisbourg, and drive the other coast trails. The price was very reasonable, the room clean. We would stay with Judy and Darrel again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2old2work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed four nights with Judy and Darrel while attending the National curling event. They opened their home and their hearts to us. They are a delightful couple and Judy's laugh is infectious! This B&B is cozy, clean, quiet and affordable. Judy's breakfasts were delicious. We will definitely recommend this spot to our friends and hope to go back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
240 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Gagnon House is a quaint B&B just off the water in Port Hawksbury. It is perfectly located for visiting Cape Breton, and just a few minutes from Isle Madame. Judy and Darrel operate the 3-room inn, and they are quite friendly. The breakfast was tasty and filling. The inn is older, so noise travels through it. Otherwise the stay was quiet and comfortable. Not recommended for children.

Room Tip: Choose the room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moabhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed with Judy and Daryl at the end of September on our way to Louisbourg and the Cabot Trail. Our gracious hosts gave us invaluable advice on the sights to see and timing. Judy's family is from Louisbourg, so the story about her ancestors was fascinating. Her home-style breakfast was a treat that we both appreciated. If you're looking for a lovely place to stay in Port Hawkesbury, this is it.

Room Tip: Ask Judy - she'll give you the best information to help you make your decision.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhiteRockBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Lovely stop on our way to Cape Breton. Daryl and Judy were so friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was just delicious, especially the coffee and jam. We laughed a lot with the other charming couples at the breakfast table, and it was a great start to the day!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hawkesbury
0.7 mi away
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
#1 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
12.4 mi away
Dundee Resort & Golf Club
0.5 mi away
Mackenzie House Tourist Home
Mackenzie House Tourist Home
#3 of 5 in Port Hawkesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Capeway Motel
Capeway Motel
#2 of 3 in Port Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
19.5 mi away
The Groundswell
The Groundswell
#1 of 1 in D'Escousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
24.2 mi away
Bras d'Or Lakes Inn
Bras d'Or Lakes Inn
#1 of 2 in St. Peter's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gagnon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gagnon House

Property: Gagnon House
Address: 24 Philpott Street, Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia B9A 2G9, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Port Hawkesbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Port Hawkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful treed property with green space, birds, and view of the Strait of Canso. Guests are welcome to sit and relax on either of the two decks on property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gagnon House Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing