We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly welcome Cape Breton”
Review of Gagnon House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Hawkesbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gagnon House
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed with Judy and Daryl at the end of September on our way to Louisbourg and the Cabot Trail. Our gracious hosts gave us invaluable advice on the sights to see and timing. Judy's family is from Louisbourg, so the story about her ancestors was fascinating. Her home-style breakfast was a treat that we both appreciated. If you're looking for a lovely place to stay in Port Hawkesbury, this is it.

Room Tip: Ask Judy - she'll give you the best information to help you make your decision.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhiteRockBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 59 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

Lovely stop on our way to Cape Breton. Daryl and Judy were so friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was just delicious, especially the coffee and jam. We laughed a lot with the other charming couples at the breakfast table, and it was a great start to the day!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Gagnon House is perfectly situated for those wanting to make the drive from Halifax and explore Cape Breton Island. Our room with a queen bed and private bath on the first floor was perfectly adequate for the two of us, and our breakfast in the morning was delicious. Our hosts, Judy and Daryl, are fantastic and gave us perfect advice and suggestions on what to do and see while we explored the area. Such good advice, in fact, that we literally came face-to-face with moose while hiking in Cape Breton Highland National Park!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank radiance12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Really nice B&B. Darryl and Judy have a beautiful clean home, and provide many healthy breakfast options. Would recommend this stop to all. Hope to one day visit again. You will not regret this choice. I stayed with my wife and our friends, and we all thought very highly of this B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We chose this B and B as a halfway point on our drive from louisbourg to Halifax. Judy and Daryl greeted us warmly and showed us to a comfy upstairs room with a queen sized bed and a pull out couch for our daughter. The home is nicely furnished with a nice mix of modern and antiques. We enjoyed visiting with the hosts who shared their knowledge of Cape Breton and the music traditions of the area. The shared bathroom was spotless with plenty of towels. Judy prepared a nice breakfast of eggs, ham, toast and fruit. An excellent choice as our holiday drew to a close.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manning3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We loved our stay at the Gagnon House. Our room was very clean and comfortable with a nice breeze. The breakfast was home cooked, fresh and delicious. Darryl and Judy, the hosts, were welcoming yet discreet. We were really impressed with all the eco-friendly touches through the house and we really appreciated the knowledge of our hosts regarding hiking trails in Cape-Breton. We are looking forward to going back to this lovely B&B which offered everything we were looking, and more, for a great price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneEtAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Our stay was a wonderful experience. The room was very cozy with a very comfortable bed. We were apprehensive of the shared washroom but this was a non issue. Each morning we were treated to a wonderful breakfast and good company. We would recommend Judy and Darryl's bed and breakfast. The location worked well for day trips of the beautiful Cape Breton.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Hawkesbury hotels
0.7 mi away
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
#1 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
196 reviews
2 mi away
Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury
Hearthstone Inn Port Hawkesbury
#2 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mackenzie House Tourist Home
Mackenzie House Tourist Home
#4 of 5 in Port Hawkesbury
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gagnon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gagnon House

Address: 24 Philpott St, Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia B9A 2G9, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Port Hawkesbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Port Hawkesbury
Price Range: $59 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful treed property with green space, birds, and view of the Strait of Canso. Guests are welcome to sit and relax on either of the two decks on property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gagnon House Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing