We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B - clean, quiet, comfortable, great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mackenzie House Tourist Home
Sydney, NS, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B - clean, quiet, comfortable, great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2009

I have stayed at MacKenzie House twice in the last two months while in the area on business. It is now my preferred destination. Beautiful rooms with very comfortable beds; clean, modern rooms; great location close to downtown but far enough away to be quiet. The included breakfast has been delicious and served when needed. Service has been friendly and A1 - no issues whatsoever.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
34
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
phildog86
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2009

Property was incredibly clean and comfortable. Great location right across from mainland, the gateway to Cape Breton! Staff very knowledgeable about area to give advice for sightseeing, also incredibly friendly and welcoming. Great food, service, rooms, location, staff... include this place in your stay on the East Coast of Canada, you will definitely be recommending it to friends and family!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phildog86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria,BC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2009

We were pleased to arrive and have a more suitable room than the one we had discussed on the phone. Initially we were told we would have just a king bed but received a king bed with a double which worked out great since we had a toddler and baby with us. We had planned to stay the one night while we made other arrangements, but because our room was so comfortable we decided to stay there for our whole trip instead. The owner was kind enough to negotiate a better rate for us since we were staying longer.

We opted to fend for ourselves instead of having breakfast there so we can't really comment on that, but we did notice tables with various cereals and a toaster with bread in the dining room. We didn't make use of them, but there were comfortable facilities like a games room with a pool table. Access to the kitchen was handy for us.

The owner was quite friendly but we can't really comment on how available he was as we were out most of the time except late in the evenings and we only saw him in passing.

My favorite part was how comfortable the beds were! Also having high speed wireless was very useful.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameronbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Alberta
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2008

Located on a quiet bay in town. If a beautiful view is important to you, this is not the place to stay as the only thing you can see is the driveway and the neighbors homes.


The home was a newer (1980’s) large property with numerous rooms throughout. We were in the loft above the pool table. This resulted in a late night as you could hear the game going on below us. The room was temperature controlled from downstairs so the first night we were uncomfortably warm, The next night I located the controls and made it cooler for our part of the home. We did not try the jetted tub although it did look inviting. The place needed some maintenance with tiles lifting from the bathroom floor. The shower was quite small considering the available space.

The spotlight outside our window was meant to illuminate their sign but it illuminated our room until well after midnight.

The bed was comfortable. The room was quiet (except for the pool game), comfortable and spacious. The TV was as old as the house…..maybe older.

Breakfast started with yogurt and fresh fruit. This was the highlight. Coffee was decent. The main course was quiche (what’s with quiche everywhere we go in Nova Scotia?) which was not all that inviting and some kind of sweet maple flavored sausages (yuk to us). What’s worse…..it was the identical breakfast two mornings in a row. We thought that they would at least offer some variety. Don’t use the jam……it was in a very large jar with remnants of numerous previous users left behind.

Rated as 5 Star by Canada Select, we rate the Mackenzie House as a 3 1/2 star.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mackenziehouse, owner at Mackenzie House Tourist Home, responded to this review, May 19, 2009
Constructive criticism allows for the business to respond in a positive manner resulting in improved service to our guests. This review member made reference to the amenities available such as the quiet, comfortable and spacious room, the jetted tub, control over the room temperature, and fresh fruit and yogurt for breakfast.

Changes have been made to address the negative concerns raised. The ceramic tiles, damaged by a guest earlier in the week were repaired. Guests are not permitted to use the pool table after 8:30 pm. The spotlight has been changed. Breakfasts are changed daily and only repeated every five days. The quality control with items at the table such as the jams has been addressed with the new cook.

Most people comment on the nice private location in a small town and enjoy the lovely home. I've placed a request in the rooms encouraging our guests to make their comments on the trip advisor site as well as in the comment books provided in each room so that they may have the opportunity to present their perspective in writing to the owner directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2008

Without charm, personality or warmth. This is a description of this B&B and also, it's host. I booked this B&B two months in advance of our anniversary trip to Nova Scotia and this was to be our first stop. I reserved the best room as it had a private entrance and a 4 piece ensuite with a skylight and I felt the location was a good stop after a long day of travel.
Where to begin. Odd location in a small court with views out the front and back of the neighbours, including an aging Bronco truck in a backyard. Inside, no carpets, few pictures on the wall and zero charm or warmth....very sterile.
Here's our biggest complaint. In spite of receiving an email confirmation for our room, we arrived and were told someone else had the room that we had reserved. We were taken to a completely unacceptable room with no private entrance , no ensuite bath (shower stall only) ,no books, just blah. A call to the host, Sandy Mackenzie, who was not there at the time of arrival was made and the only solution offered was a return of our deposit. We left to find a different B&B as we would not be able to forgive ourselves for giving money to such an establishment. It became quite difficult to get our deposit refunded and during several discussions with Mr. Mackenzie, an apology or explanation was never offered. It was necessary to return to the location to resolve the deposit problem and I was treated with close to hostility.
My recommendation would be to stay away from this B&B! We ended up staying at the Haus Treuburg and we highly recommend this inn.

  • Liked — Leaving.
  • Disliked — The host, Mr. Mackenzie.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank IandY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy_MacKenzie, Owner at Mackenzie House Tourist Home, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Your review was of considerable interest. Although you did not stay with us and met me only once for a few minutes when you returned to get your deposit the comments about my personality seem to be rather harsh.
If you would give us a chance to provide you with a fine room and excellent hospitality I would assure you that it is exactly what you would experience. You are welcome to come back and stay for a night at our expense whenever you are in the area.
The young lady, a university student working for the summer acted as your receptionist when you arrived and she tried to do her best to accommodate you. She felt very badly about your decision to leave and had little experience in dealing with such a situation. I apologize for leaving the impression of a hostile nature. I assure you that I am not a hostile person and would like to meet you on better terms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Hawkesbury
1.1 mi away
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
Maritime Inn Port Hawkesbury
#1 of 2 in Port Hawkesbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
14.7 mi away
Dundee Resort & Golf Club
87.8 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Capeway Motel
Capeway Motel
#2 of 3 in Port Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
44.3 mi away
Telegraph House Hotel
Telegraph House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
45.8 mi away
Broadwater Inn
Broadwater Inn
#3 of 17 in Baddeck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackenzie House Tourist Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackenzie House Tourist Home

Property: Mackenzie House Tourist Home
Address: 4 Tupper Crt, Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia B9A 2A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Port Hawkesbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Port Hawkesbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mackenzie House Tourist Home 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MacKenzie House is a Canada Select 5 Star property strategically located at the entry area of Nova Scotia's masterpiece, Cape Breton Island. This is the ideal location for those planning a vacation to explore the island and experience the seascapes, outstanding cuisine, hospitality, rousing ceilidhs and inspiring history. Visit the island and you will soon realize why Cape Breton has been given the distinction as one of the most beautiful islands in the world. We provide warm hospitality in a quality setting on the front porch of Cape Breton Island. Treat yourself to the luxury of a property rated by Canada Select to be among the best in the country. We take pride in providing you with a very high level of service, hospitality and quality accommodations. Our assistance and guidance is available upon request in an effort to make your stay more enjoyable and create a desire to stay a little longer or return to experience more of our culture. The property has all the expected amenities including air conditioning, free wifi, outside entrances, telephones in the rooms, en suite baths, queen and king size beds, kitchenette, guest's dining area, free hot breakfasts, laundry, games room, in room TVs, in room desks, guest living room, etc. Enjoy a fine home while visiting this remarkable island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mackenzie House Tourist Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackenzie House Tourist Home Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing