We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a peaceful place with great food”
Review of The Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Castle Inn
Quispamsis
1 review
“What a peaceful place with great food”
Reviewed November 15, 2009

My wife and I stay the The Castle Inn yesterday and it was wonderful. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. You feel the history when you're at a place like this. The chef Chris might be the best chef in NB, it's between him and Chris @ Rossmount in St Andrews. Needless to stay, the food was the best part of the trip and stay. We stayed in the Victorian room and it was much larger then I thought it would be for the dollar. We booked a room for next May 2010 and it's going to be great going back. We're already looking forward to it.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmorrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    20
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
22
51
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texs
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2009

My husband and I were in Boston from San Antonio, Texas, and I wanted to take him to the Castle Inn so he could have the same experience I had when I stayed at the Castle Inn for a month in 2006 while on business. So we drove from Boston and Back just for the experience of the one night at the Castle Inn and it was worth every mile we drove. There have been some changes made - the addition of 6 new guest rooms all with private jacuzzi baths, plus a new breakfast dining room that is so cheery! Even with all the new changes, it was like going home after being away for three years. Of course I wanted to stay in one of the original rooms where I stayed when I was a guest there before. Our room overlooked the river and town below and was just as it was three years ago. We ate dinner that evening at the Castle that was prepared by Chef Chris Cornhill. Chris remembered me and I only wish we could have had a little more time to visit. The staff is all so very friendly and welcoming. It is so nice to go down to dinner and then go up to your room to relax and not have to drive anywhere. If you want a very memorable experience and not just stay in a hotel room that looks like any hotel room, then you really should try the Castle Inn - it really is an experience and not just a stay in a hotel. Thank you Chris and staff for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasPearl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2009

We stopped in during a cross country road trip from Vancouver to the East Coast. This was a highlight of the trip. It was convenient, a couple of minutes off the highway, across the river, between major cities. But our stay was a fabulous. It was a quiet off-season day and the best room was available at a reasonable rate. We were greeted in the friendliest of manners. The room was large and wonderfully comfortable and reasonably priced (4 times larger, better appointed, similar rate to our previous night in Old Quebec). Then dinner was tremendous. It was one of the best meals that we have had since Bishop's in Vancouver (also excellent). Not cheap, but appropriately priced for what we received. Charming, comfortable. We will definitely be recommending to our friends. Their web site overstates nothing. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bearfud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Mother celebrated her 80th birthday this past June. Our slighty belated gift to her (in early August) was a "this-is-your-life" journey throughout Aroostook County, where she was born and raised and Andover/Perth, New Brunswick, where she and Daddy were married nearly 61 years ago.

Besides visiting all the lovely places tied to our lives with heartstrings, we were so blessed to have made reservations at The Castle Inn in Perth. It would be an understatement to say that The Inn was the bow adorning our gift to Mama. Mother's comment, "It couldn’t' have been more wonderful..." truly says it all.

Via email and telephone, Chris Cornhill, manager and chef of Castle Inn, was always cheerful, welcoming and more than accommodating. In person... even more wonderful. Lisa, his lovely wife, made us feel like royalty. Together, they truly made our weekend celebration a life-long memory.

If you are aching to journey to a by-gone era, you must spend some time at The Castle Inn in Perth, New Brunswick, Canada. I am certain you, too, will share Mother's experience and hear yourself saying, "It couldn't have been more wonderful..."

Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
2 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2009

With the recent renovations of the Castle Inn it is a perfect blend of old meets new.
Chef Chris is a wonderful man with outstanding skills.
Everyone was so welcoming, it felt like you were staying with family. This hidden treasure is sure to be a hot spot in no time.
The perfect setting for an intimate wedding.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thejzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2009

Don't ask what prompted us to spend a weekend driving up to Aroostook County from our place in Camden once icy roads cleared well enough for travel. Suffice it to stay that we found ourselves needing a place to stay on a cold and bleak Saturday night at the end of February, and after our survey of the tired, dreary, 50ish roadside motels in places like Presque Isle and Fort Fairfield, the Castle Inn just across the border in nearby Perth-Andover was a beacon of welcome.

It's thus appropriate to place the Castle Inn in geographical context. If it were located in the Adirondacks or Napa Valley (or, say, the Cotswolds) it perhaps would not merit so relatively high a set of ratings. But to our reconnaisance, it is the ONLY such style a place north of Bangor, between St. Andrews, NB and sweeping up around the Maine - Canada border as far as the Eastern Townships of Quebec.

The charming, slightly whimsical, 1932 industrialist's cottage turned hotel and restaurant is American Tudor with Craftsman touches. The five guest rooms (with several more on the way, as the second floor is currently being added onto while the period style remains unchanged on the addition) complement the well-appointed restaurant and cozy bar on the main floor.

Thirtyish Scotsman Chris Cornhill manages the entire place, from room reservations to kitchen; he's friendly and outgoing and will cheerfully attend to any need ranging from special culinary/dietary requests to a midnight re-boot of a balky wireless internet computer server.

The dinner menu gives a nod to local produce, game, seafood and the usual old reliables, but with more creativity and flourish than one would typically find in such a restaurant-deprived, thinly populated region. The wine list is reasonably diverse, with Canadian wines being well represented thereon.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable, well appointed but with only the tiniest bit of tat or kitsch here and there -- an electric fireplace, a tiny basin in the bathroom curiously mated with a large, new whirlpool bath plus separate shower, for example.

But generally, the place offers coziness and a moderate degreee of luxury with no small helping of architectural charm.

For comparison, if one is familiar, think of a smallish country house hotel or coaching inn located in a rural village of a not-frequently-touristed part of the UK. "That's basically what we were trying to achieve," Chris told us as he piled on local bacon and sausages which came with the full English breakfast. We noticed a mix of locals (by that we mean both from the U.S. side and the Canadian side) at dinner and in the bar the night before. Meanwhile, the rooms get a mix of motley travelers. Chris claimed a recent Canadian prime minister on the guest register. Then there were these two crazy Texans with a small summer place in Maine, who were very happy to have stumbled across this engaging, hospitable, attractive place, within spitting distance from the potato fields of Aroostook in the dead of winter.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owlfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perth-Andover
14.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Presque Isle
Hampton Inn Presque Isle
#1 of 5 in Presque Isle
536 reviews
21.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand-Sault Hotel & Suites
15.3 mi away
Presque Isle Inn & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Perth-Andover Motor Inn
Perth-Andover Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Perth-Andover
21 reviews
17.4 mi away
Aroostook Hospitality Inn
23.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 4 in Grand Falls
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Inn

Property: The Castle Inn
Address: 21 Brentwood Dr, Perth-Andover, New Brunswick E7H 1P1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Perth-Andover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Perth-Andover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Castle Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Castle Inn, Restaurant & Bar in Perth-Andover, New Brunswick, Canada. Your stay at The Castle Inn, built in 1932, will be a memorable one with our unique rooms featuring antique furniture, our indoor and outdoor fireplaces, the jacuzzi tubs and outdoor hot tub, beautiful scenery and the food. Our European chef prepares the finest meals every day in the restaurant on the main floor open to the public and guests alike. Stop in for dinner and a drink or stay for a few nights and make yourself at home... you're always welcome at The Castle Inn! Families welcome! open all year corporate rates available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Perth-Andover
The Castle Inn Perth-Andover, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing