We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stone Soup Inn - CLOSED

Stone Soup Inn
Cuisines: Canadian, American, Contemporary, Soups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Gualala, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Susan and I just had dinner here Thursday eve. Absolutely marvelous. Brock, the chef and owner, congratulations to you. We will eat here anytime we are anywhere near here, worth the drive people!
Vancouver Island, British Columbia
from Brock,
I didn't notice it before but it appears we took the silver award in EAT magazine's 2013 Exceptional Eats Award "Remotest with the Mostest" category. Thanks EAT readers!
http://www.eatmagazine.ca/the-2013-exceptional-eats-award-winners/

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Gourmet experience in the Cowichan Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

The Cowichan Valley is usually not known for high-end 5-star food temples. Sure, we have great wineries, beautiful water ways, fishing, forests and farms, but the culinary side is heavy on family-fare, light on class. The Stone Soup Inn encompasses both. Farm-to-table food created by the highly talented chef Brock Windsor. The drive out towards Cowichan Lake is half the fun and when you arrive at the family farm-house home/restaurant you're in a tranquil setting with great anticipation of the surprise prix-fixe menu that Brock will create for you. Phone ahead to alert him to any special dietary needs or requests. He's very accommodating, even allowing us to bring a special bottle of wine for a small corkage fee. Otherwise, he also offers a wine-pairing with local wine that is fine and fairly priced, alas I have to say I tasted 80% of all the local wines and was looking forward to pairing his locavore delicacies with a special french Burgundy from my own cellar.

From the smoked albacore appetizer to the locally raised beef, everything was prepared with love and attention to detail, perfect cooked and simply presented. Especially memorable was his chanterelle (locally picked) soup with bacon from his rare-breed pigs he raises himself. A unique taste that you won't soon forget.

Finally a fine-dining destination that we won't have to leave the Valley for to satisfy our foodie cravings. I rarely give 100% marks on my reviews, but this place deserves it, because there was nothing that would need any improvement. It was one of those rare dining experiences, where everything just comes together perfectly. All that for a price that won't break the bank. Treat yourself and a friend!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I was there recently to celebrate my sister's 50th wedding anniversary. The dinner was memorable and I could have kept savoring the wonderful flavours long after I was full. Every course was delicious, beautifully presented and the wine pairings were just right for the various dishes. The staff were totally pleased to be part of such a momentous celebration and went out of their way to be sure everything was perfect. It was like they were part of the family.

Breakfast in the morning was wondeful as well and I have never enjoyed bacon so much as the home raised and smoked delicacy they presented.

If you want a great weekend escape with the best food you could imagine, book in advance, because they only have 2 B&B rooms. Then you can have the wine pairings and not have to drive. How smart is that?

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzhanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and wonderful service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I had dinner at the Stone Soup Inn during the Wine and Culinary Festival in September. It was a wonderful meal. There is no menu. The chef, Brock Windsor prepares a 5 course meal with fresh local ingredients and whatever he makes that day is what you are served. The food and wine pairing were spectacular and the service was execellent. At the end of the evening the Brock came out to the dining room and made the rounds, speaking to the diners which just topped off the evening. We live in Vancouver but we would definitely plan a trip to the Island just to have dinner at the Stone Soup Inn.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mhoggan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Cowichan, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Special Occasions.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Fine dining at its best. Brock Windsor has an art to his cooking. Great for that special occasion. In a lovely setting. Have celebrated several Birthday, Anniversarys here.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank symonwhalvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Soup Inn also viewed

Lake Cowichan, Vancouver Island
Lake Cowichan, Vancouver Island
 
Lake Cowichan, Vancouver Island
Lake Cowichan, Vancouver Island
 
Lake Cowichan, Vancouver Island
Lake Cowichan, Vancouver Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing