We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquistie!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Cowichan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cowichan River Wilderness Lodge
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Our stay here was a lovely experience in Nature's Paradise! The lodge is beautifully appointed, immaculate, the setting in nature soothing. Our hosts, Kyt and Kenzie are most gracious and make you feel right at home. Kyt's breakfasts were gourmet served in a spacious and inviting dining room. So many outstanding works of art to peruse around the lodge!
Kenzie, knows the river so well, his quiet, confident demeanour made him easy to be with. He took my son and I on a drift of the Cowichen to fish for brown trout. The river was running quite full but still he knew all the places to take us to to find the fish, knew the right flies, and guided us to get the right drift and cast. And find the fish we did! I was able to get into the biggest brown trout of the year! I was chuffed. My son also got into some very nice size trout as well.

Thanks so much Kyt and Kenzie.
It took me a long time to get there, I shall return! :-)

Room Tip: The bedrooms are up the exquisite hand crafted log stairway to a mezzanine. My son stayed in his o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fran F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KMCLc, Owner at Cowichan River Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We're glad we met your expectations and we both look forward to seeing you again!
Thanks again,
Kyt and Kenzie Cuthbert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

Kyt and Kenzie are the perfect hosts at their beautiful lodge. A spacious living room to gather and exchange fishing stories in front of the fireplace, a media room to catch up on sports or news and a beautiful dining room looking over the grounds. Our suite had a terrace overlooking the river, a soaker tub and a very comfortable bed. The plentiful food was home made and delicious! We fished for two days and experienced way more than bountiful fishing. The leaves were turning and the bears and eagles were fishing right along with us. Kenzie is a very knowledgeable guide which allowed me to catch plenty of fish even though I am a novice. The whole experience of cruising the pristine waters to fish, sharing the river with bears and eagles, then to be welcomed home after a full day of fishing to a beautiful meal is good for the soul. Thanks Kyt and Kenzie!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bustatree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KMCLc, owner at Cowichan River Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are always glad to see our guests enjoying what we have to offer here at the Cowichan River Wilderness Lodge. Hope to see you again.
Kyt and Kenzie Cuthbert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

To be able to go someplace relatively close and be able to see Mother Nature's at its best is truly a special spot. We witnessed a mother bear with 3 cubs eating salmon on the beach. Then the three cubs climbed a tree while Mama Bear sat close by watching. We were a mere 100 yards away Spey Rod Fishing for fresh Coho Salmon. Scenes like this played out all day long.

Oh yeah, the fishing was terrific too! Fly, Spey, Spin and drift fishing are all available along this river. Too much fun and wasn't thinking about much except how I was going to present my next cast into the pool I was exploring. So talk about getting away from it all.

The lodge is very comfortable, clean and new! Full on fishing equipment was available if you don't have the right fishing gear. Terrific home made meals and snacks, satellite TV, Wifi , hot showers and a place to keep your beer cold were all there. If you're looking to see and experience the best mother nature has to offer I'd highly recommend the Cowichan River Lodge. Kit and Kenzie will make you feel at home. So laid back and hospitable that you won't believe that you didn't know them longer. Well done and look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: If you're travelling with a loved one upgrade to one of the suites right from the beginning. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tambalini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KMCLc, Owner at Cowichan River Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for your review!! It was a pleasure having you here and we're glad you enjoyed yourselves so much. We look forward to seeing you both again.... Happy travels!! from Kyt and Kenzie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the minute we left we can honestly say that the warmth of welcome by Kenzie and Kyt and their attention to detail made this a 'not to be missed' experience. The spacious lodge is amazing and surroundings truly peaceful and tranquil. The Nitinat suite is large and gives great views across the creek. The varied breakfast menu was delicious; served in the dining room which affords views onto the garden and hummingbirds feedng.

The day spent with Kenzie on the River Cowichan was all we had hoped it would be - professional, informative and most rewarding. The shere beauty of this unspoilt river is breath-taking. Now, three months later we have wonderful memories that will last a lifetime.

Room Tip: The Nitinat suite has a spar bath, a balcony and good views out of three windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aj1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KMCLc, Owner at Cowichan River Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for your review. We're always glad our guests enjoy our accommodations and experiences. We look forward to the next time!! Your hosts, Kyt and Kenzie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We found this Lodge purely by chance and we are so happy that we did. It is really in the woods, but only 10 minutes outside of the lovely town of Lake Cowichan on Vancouver Island in BC, Canada. The Lodge has a huge great room, a very inviting TV/lounge room and a comfortable dining room,where amazingly delicious, large breakfasts are served each morning.
The outside area includes a large terrace overlooking a river inlet and all sorts of birds and wildlife. There is great hiking and boating in the area.
The bedroom was huge and spacious and the bed was really comfortable. The wonderful thing was that the host, Kit, had really thought of every detail, down to the ice water left outside our door each evening.
We don't fish, but the other couple who were staying there hired Kit's husband, who runs a professional fisherman's guide service and they loved the places he took them to fish, using his own boat.
We will be returning here to experience the tranquility, great food and wonderful hosting.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite and it had it's own jacuzzi bathtub, which we loved!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lrahip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KMCLc, Owner at Cowichan River Wilderness Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thank you for the review! We are pleased that we met your requirements and look forward to seeing you another time. It was a pleasure having you here...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Cowichan
15.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn
13.1 mi away
Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn
24.8 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lake Cowichan Lodge
Lake Cowichan Lodge
#4 of 13 in Lake Cowichan
30 reviews
18.3 mi away
Oceanfront Suites at Cowichan Bay
2.8 mi away
Crown House Bed & Breakfast
Crown House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Lake Cowichan
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cowichan River Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowichan River Wilderness Lodge

Address: 7461 Hudgrove Road | PO Box 1342, Lake Cowichan, British Columbia V0R 2G0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Lake Cowichan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Lake Cowichan
Price Range: $80 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury bed & breakfast on 16 acres of private riverfront with two deluxe suites and two standard bedrooms. Guided freshwater fishing available by reservation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing