We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One step beyond getting away from it all”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Cowichan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cowichan River Wilderness Lodge
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One step beyond getting away from it all”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

To be able to go someplace relatively close and be able to see Mother Nature's at its best is truly a special spot. We witnessed a mother bear with 3 cubs eating salmon on the beach. Then the three cubs climbed a tree while Mama Bear sat close by watching. We were a mere 100 yards away Spey Rod Fishing for fresh Coho Salmon. Scenes like this played out all day long.

Oh yeah, the fishing was terrific too! Fly, Spey, Spin and drift fishing are all available along this river. Too much fun and wasn't thinking about much except how I was going to present my next cast into the pool I was exploring. So talk about getting away from it all.

The lodge is very comfortable, clean and new! Full on fishing equipment was available if you don't have the right fishing gear. Terrific home made meals and snacks, satellite TV, Wifi , hot showers and a place to keep your beer cold were all there. If you're looking to see and experience the best mother nature has to offer I'd highly recommend the Cowichan River Lodge. Kit and Kenzie will make you feel at home. So laid back and hospitable that you won't believe that you didn't know them longer. Well done and look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: If you're travelling with a loved one upgrade to one of the suites right from the beginning. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tambalini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KMCLc, Owner at Cowichan River Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review!! It was a pleasure having you here and we're glad you enjoyed yourselves so much. We look forward to seeing you both again.... Happy travels!! from Kyt and Kenzie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wokingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the minute we left we can honestly say that the warmth of welcome by Kenzie and Kyt and their attention to detail made this a 'not to be missed' experience. The spacious lodge is amazing and surroundings truly peaceful and tranquil. The Nitinat suite is large and gives great views across the creek. The varied breakfast menu was delicious; served in the dining room which affords views onto the garden and hummingbirds feedng.

The day spent with Kenzie on the River Cowichan was all we had hoped it would be - professional, informative and most rewarding. The shere beauty of this unspoilt river is breath-taking. Now, three months later we have wonderful memories that will last a lifetime.

Room Tip: The Nitinat suite has a spar bath, a balcony and good views out of three windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aj1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KMCLc, Owner at Cowichan River Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're always glad our guests enjoy our accommodations and experiences. We look forward to the next time!! Your hosts, Kyt and Kenzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We found this Lodge purely by chance and we are so happy that we did. It is really in the woods, but only 10 minutes outside of the lovely town of Lake Cowichan on Vancouver Island in BC, Canada. The Lodge has a huge great room, a very inviting TV/lounge room and a comfortable dining room,where amazingly delicious, large breakfasts are served each morning.
The outside area includes a large terrace overlooking a river inlet and all sorts of birds and wildlife. There is great hiking and boating in the area.
The bedroom was huge and spacious and the bed was really comfortable. The wonderful thing was that the host, Kit, had really thought of every detail, down to the ice water left outside our door each evening.
We don't fish, but the other couple who were staying there hired Kit's husband, who runs a professional fisherman's guide service and they loved the places he took them to fish, using his own boat.
We will be returning here to experience the tranquility, great food and wonderful hosting.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite and it had it's own jacuzzi bathtub, which we loved!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lrahip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KMCLc, Owner at Cowichan River Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for the review! We are pleased that we met your requirements and look forward to seeing you another time. It was a pleasure having you here...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Cowichan
15.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Chemainus Inn
13.1 mi away
Best Western Cowichan Valley Inn
2.8 mi away
Crown House Bed & Breakfast
Crown House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 6 in Lake Cowichan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Beaver Lake Resort and Campground
Beaver Lake Resort and Campgroun...
#10 of 11 in Lake Cowichan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
26.1 mi away
Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages
Wild Renfrew Seaside Cottages
#1 of 8 in Port Renfrew
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
103.1 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cowichan River Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowichan River Wilderness Lodge

Property: Cowichan River Wilderness Lodge
Address: 7461 Hudgrove Road | PO Box 1342, Lake Cowichan, British Columbia V0R 2G0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Lake Cowichan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Lake Cowichan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury bed & breakfast on 16 acres of private riverfront with two deluxe suites and two standard bedrooms. Guided freshwater fishing available by reservation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing