We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel in the Middle of Nowhere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel De Oro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel De Oro
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lillooet
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in the Middle of Nowhere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great place to stay in town...not like you have many choices. The rooms were clean and everything worked well. The internet was really good and the lock out front door worked well too until it didn't close one time. Quiet place. Lots of rooms. Plenty of parking. Overlooked main street. Quiet town closes down around 8 or 9 at night. Our TV worked well. Hosts weren't too friendly, but ok.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Doug A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    61
    28
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
63
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here recently on the Sunday night of the May long weekend. Jay the manager was most helpful in booking the room and checking in. Room was very clean and exactly what we needed for a short stop over. The Motel is located right on the main street, (pun intended) of Lillooet. Central location and an easy walk to everything. A light continental breakfast was served in the restaurant attached to the motel the next morning. Nice and fresh and good coffee. Great way to start the day. Check out was simple, just drop your key in the box at the front desk and you were on your way. If coming back to Lillooet I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Stayed on a room at the back of the motel, was very quite. Looked out onto the street and the garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acdrty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

My friend and I had a double twin room -- small and cute and clean. It was all we needed for the stopover on our roadtrip. The room was clean and convenient, and the beds about as comfortable as you can expect from twins. The continental breakfast was basic, but served in the cafe next door -- which ensured the coffee was of good quality and the service was lovely. It is right next to some of the heritage sites, and just down the street from others. A couple of good restaurants in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorisReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed here with a friend on Sunday, Sept. 2, 2012, as part of our 3-day road trip. The hotel doesn't look like much from the outside, but the rooms are surprisingly spacious and very clean. The beds are quite firm. You should know that all the guest rooms are located on the second floor. There is no elevator, so it's not wheelchair-accessible. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast is included with your stay, featuring toast, butter, jam, cereal, coffee / tea, orange juice, milk and fruit, served on the ground floor in the adjoining cafe. Unfortunately there isn't much for a celiac to eat (nothing gluten-free). The hotel offers free Wi-Fi with moderate reception. Hotel DeOro is an absolute bargain in this region. Highly recommended is Dina's Place, a Greek restaurant across the street. The location is good: close to most of the restaurants, a food market, gas station, pub, liquor store and the museum. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akershus, Norway
Level Contributor
194 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

It was fine for one night. The room are better than the impression you first get when you arrive. My husband didn't like the free breakfast and there were no nice hotel amenities. You get a coffee pot, mini-fridge, and cable TV in the room. No frills but over all it was ok for the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeliMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stopped here on a motorcycle ride from Vancouver and the staff were great and the room was clean and quiet. Air conditioning and the windows open. Cute little second floor sitting area. Would stay here again. Good value for dollar.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissKLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We just spent one night here as part of a road trip but found it a welcoming respite. The room smelled like soap but that must be a testament to its cleanliness. They still use CRT TVs but they had HBO and that was a big plus. I work at a 4 diamond hotel in Vancouver and all we offer is basic cable! Hosts were very friendly and the continental breakfast included was satisfying and straightforward. Next time we will stay a little longer in Lilloet (but not in the summer as we heard in can get incredibly hot out there) and explore the marvelous terrain.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepegoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lillooet hotels
0.5 mi away
Reynolds Hotel
Reynolds Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lillooet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn - Mile 0
0.2 mi away
4 Pines Motel
4 Pines Motel
#5 of 5 in Lillooet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#3 of 4 in Lillooet
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Oro

Property: Hotel De Oro
Address: 639 Main Street, Lillooet, British Columbia V0K 1V0, Canada (Formerly Gold Panner Hotel)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Lillooet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lillooet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Oro 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel DeOro is the newest Hotel in the Lillooet district. It is independently owned and operated, and our facilities help guests feels right at home. We have clean, modern units and offer twenty-two rooms. We strive to be the best facility in the Lillooet and pride ourselves in cleanliness and superior service ! Special discount for staying guests(7:30am-10am) Hotel DeOro's on-site cafe, DeOro Coffee Lounge, invites you to a staying guests discount on your choice of items from the breakfast menu purchase (breakfast wrap, quiches, egg omelette wrap, panini.. etc) to start off your day! *Continental Breakfast is not available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel De Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing