We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the money, clean, comfortable”
Review of Hotel De Oro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel De Oro
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lillooet
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed here with a friend on Sunday, Sept. 2, 2012, as part of our 3-day road trip. The hotel doesn't look like much from the outside, but the rooms are surprisingly spacious and very clean. The beds are quite firm. You should know that all the guest rooms are located on the second floor. There is no elevator, so it's not wheelchair-accessible. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast is included with your stay, featuring toast, butter, jam, cereal, coffee / tea, orange juice, milk and fruit, served on the ground floor in the adjoining cafe. Unfortunately there isn't much for a celiac to eat (nothing gluten-free). The hotel offers free Wi-Fi with moderate reception. Hotel DeOro is an absolute bargain in this region. Highly recommended is Dina's Place, a Greek restaurant across the street. The location is good: close to most of the restaurants, a food market, gas station, pub, liquor store and the museum. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 111 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

It was fine for one night. The room are better than the impression you first get when you arrive. My husband didn't like the free breakfast and there were no nice hotel amenities. You get a coffee pot, mini-fridge, and cable TV in the room. No frills but over all it was ok for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeliMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stopped here on a motorcycle ride from Vancouver and the staff were great and the room was clean and quiet. Air conditioning and the windows open. Cute little second floor sitting area. Would stay here again. Good value for dollar.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissKLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We just spent one night here as part of a road trip but found it a welcoming respite. The room smelled like soap but that must be a testament to its cleanliness. They still use CRT TVs but they had HBO and that was a big plus. I work at a 4 diamond hotel in Vancouver and all we offer is basic cable! Hosts were very friendly and the continental breakfast included was satisfying and straightforward. Next time we will stay a little longer in Lilloet (but not in the summer as we heard in can get incredibly hot out there) and explore the marvelous terrain.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepegoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Clean, quiet, comfortable room. We actually drove past the hotel once before we found it. Just what we needed after a long trip - lots of hot water, decent air conditioning, a comfortable bed, and no noise. Thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSchindells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

this hotel is good value, and has everything more expensive places we visited in BC have - but it all feels a bit old, cheap and outdated - from the noisy air conditioning, to the shower etc. not bad for what you pay though - but do avoid the coffee which comes with the room - it smells good, but is by far the most horrid of the variety of terrible N. American coffees we had to drink while in Canada. The coffee in the (good) continental breakfast, on the other hand, is strong enough to grow hair on your palm. Or spleen

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uncshai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed there in August to do a bit of salmon fishing.
The rooms are nice and clean. Very friendly hosts.
I would stay here again in the future.
The have a nice little restaurant close by and breakfast is inluded.

Room Tip: Can't help you there. I think they are mostly the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swissboy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lillooet hotels
0.1 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn - Mile 0
0.5 mi away
Reynolds Hotel
Reynolds Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lillooet
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
4 Pines Motel
4 Pines Motel
#4 of 5 in Lillooet
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#3 of 4 in Lillooet
16 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Oro

Address: 639 Main Street, Lillooet, British Columbia V0K 1V0, Canada (Formerly Gold Panner Hotel)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Lillooet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lillooet
Price Range: $71 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Oro 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel DeOro is the newest Hotel in the Lillooet district. It is independently owned and operated, and our facilities help guests feels right at home. We have clean, modern units and offer twenty-two rooms. We strive to be the best facility in the Lillooet and pride ourselves in cleanliness and superior service ! Special discount for staying guests(7:30am-10am) Hotel DeOro's on-site cafe, DeOro Coffee Lounge, invites you to a staying guests discount on your choice of items from the breakfast menu purchase (breakfast wrap, quiches, egg omelette wrap, panini.. etc) to start off your day! *Continental Breakfast is not available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel De Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing