We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A success story”

Fort Berens Estate Winery
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Lillooet
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Fort Berens Estate Winery is a culmination of the dreams, vision and pioneering spirit of several entrepreneurs. It was founded with a pioneering spirit and forged on the road less traveled. The winery is owned by a team of eight individuals who share a common belief in the incredible winemaking potential of British Columbia’s Fraser Canyon and a shared vision to make Fort Berens into one of Canada’s leading producers of fine wine.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
148 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A success story”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Visiting Fort Berens estate winery is a must if you are in Lillooet and you enjoy wine tasting. I believe the place is owned by a Dutch couple, and their wines have already won a number of awards despite the few years the winery has been in operation. My hat’s off to them. They took their chances by starting the first winery in Lillooet and all the indications are that theirs is a remarkable success story.

We tried a few of their wines and amongst the many choices we took a bottle of their Red Meritage 2011 and another one of White Chardonnay 2012.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank El-Pescador007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    31
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Logan Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Enjoy the local wine”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Enjoyable visit, friendly and knowledgeable staff, great location. For a new winery they have won many awards. The product speaks for itself. Really enjoyed the 23 Camels wine.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dirk W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A well run start-up winery”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Not the greatest winery in the world, but an admirable effort. Attention has been paid to a local identity. Definitely worth a visit, be fair with criticism.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Logjam2650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillooet, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Anew young Vinyard!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I live in the same valley as this young new baby vinyard. I have watched this vinyard grow from an unused hay feild to a beautiful lush vinyard and am amazed and so pleased with the dedication and attention to detail that these owners show. It is the first time I have been able to actually watch the entire process of planting to harvest! I would advise that the first oppertunity you have to purchase a Fort Berens wine that you buy by the case as it is going to be one of the best you've ever tasted! I know! I've had thier a few bottles from thier first year and it was absolutely fabulous!! Try it, really you won't be disapointed! I think this will be an award winner all over the world!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“A great decision to stop off!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

A great winery about 2KM from Lillooet centre on the main highway overlooking the Thompson river. We dropped in on our way to Whistler , the lady behind the counter was very bubbly and all seven wines were on offer were free to taste, we only tried the 2 reds. Both were very nice and we took a bottle of each. We were informed that they could be laid down for up to 6 years. Replying they wouldn't see six days;and they didn't. We had tried a few wines in the Kelowna area and these were of an equal quality at a better price.
If you buy six bottles as one couple did , you receive a special canvas wine bag.
Don't leave without being told the story of the 23 camels!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank eltel432016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Berens Estate Winery also viewed

Lillooet, British Columbia
Lillooet, British Columbia
 
Lillooet, British Columbia
Lillooet, British Columbia
 

Been to Fort Berens Estate Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing