We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely 2 bedroom student flat”

Mallaig Backpackers Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mallaig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mallaig Backpackers Lodge
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Felt like a rather scruffy (but clean) student flat and without any real management or personal security (no lockers and doors open to anyone until around midnight), but fine for what I wanted.
Excellent central location by the harbour, and shops and pubs on the doorstep. Very good restaurant(great fish and chips)/cafe/tea garden in same ownership below.
£17 is top end for this and surprised to be told £1 extra if using a card.
Only 2 small (long and narrow) dormer style bedrooms with 3 bunks in each - mixed sexes and not allocated according to who arrives just before midnight off the last train or leaves for the 6 am train. So we had some disturbance and I no doubt unavoidably caused some too.
Interesting mix of friendly guests from around the World made it friendly and homely, especially in the small comfy lounge, good for reading and watching TV. Kitchen is average - with 2 small tables for dining. 2 tiny shower rooms between the bedrooms with toilet and small washbasin but writing on the wall indicates it's about to be refitted. I only hope it's done properly as it's a mess at present and warrants better given the heavy useage. It's not like a normal hostel but serves its purpose reasonably well for budget accommodation. However if you want peace, comfort and privacy go for the B&B.

Room Tip: try and find out who is staying and what their movements are going to be, but only 2 rooms so no gr...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noryorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
There are newer reviews for Mallaig Backpackers Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 37 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

Two nights last week of June I visited this hostel having paid in advance. The experience was not one to be repeated. When, after returning from a deluge in Malaig, I asked for some heat to dry out clothing (five times I repeatedly asked) the final answer was totally negative along with excuses that the heating system was faulty. The following morning a visit to the bathroom revealed no hot water in either shower or washbasin. Again the reply from the owner was negative. My overall conclusion was that this hostel is just an afterthought for its owner who wanted no responsibility for his accommodation but was happy to take the fee. The hostel was wide open with no place to safely leave anything of value. The only way this hostel could continue to function with any degree of concern for its visitors would be to completely rethink and overhaul of the premises. As this is probably a pipe dream I, for one, will not be returning soon.

Room Tip: Take a tent or look elsewhere
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I had read the reviews for the backpackers and I have experience of hostels all over Europe and USA. This hostel offers the most basic of service.....a place to stay and it’s pricey for a hostel at £17. In Europe I had experienced hot tubs, lockers, free tours, 24hr reception and evening activity’s basically the staff putting in the effort to attract people. This place seems to accept that they are the only hostel in town and can rest on knowing there is no competition.

Things I would advise against.
Security; There is no lockers/storage in rooms so things end up all over the place when busy, no security from people just walking in off the street.
Food; the cafe is a rip off, poorly prepared meals at restaurant prices and no customer service.
Fun; This hostel does nothing to promote the local area, there was no one to advise on what you can do, no suggested tours, no local knowledge and no links with other people or business in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisPLavelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

HORRIBLE experience, the owners of this accommodation are their son are enough to stay far far away!!!! The accommodation is fine, the food is fine but for an extra few pounds (Sheena's is £17 & a B&B is £25 including a full breakfast!) it's worth it's weight in gold to stay at a B&B and have someone be nice to visitors coming to Scotland. We ended up moving after the 1st night. Unbelievable these this place is open.

Room Tip: Mallaig is a great village. There are so many B&B's in Mallaig that are more than happy to...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marycornell2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

we arrived at 10 pm on a sataurday night and were greeted by the owner, who was very friendly and efficient in showing us to our room (there were 6 of us so we have a room to ourselfs) he showed us round all the usual bathroom, showers, communal kitchen and a small lounge area which was very well done out with sofas and lots of books and maps relating to walks and activities in the local area. The owner showed good local knowledge by telling us what pub to visit and even where out chartered boat would pick us up in the morning. since we had decided to go to the pub we took the late night key (£10 deposit) because they have a 11.30 doors locked policy and any guests that are expecting to be out later than that are asked to take the night key.

does exactly what it said on the tin.

very nice, very cheap & very good

Room Tip: the dorm we had slept six to se had it to ourselfs
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ebz2252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Easy to find - I recognised it from the photos on their website. I stayed two nights in this hostel. Upon arrival the owner was friendly and showed us where our bunks were (they are pre-allocated because often people arrive around midnight on the train). It is a small hostel and more like staying in a real home. It has a kitchen with dining tables and a very cosy living room with sofas, plentiful local information/magazines and a TV. Sea views from all rooms. The bathroom, bedding and kitchen were very clean. There is a big, tall radiator in the bathroom for drying clothes etc. There is a co-op opposite which is open very late so easy to get supplies. Both nights I stayed in this hostel all the other guests were very friendly and we chatted in the living room most of the night. The bunks were very comfy. There was a private roof area where the owner let us store our bikes, which was great.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyMTBer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

I stayed here with a group of friends the night before catching the ferry to Rum. Arrived late at night and left early the next morning so didn't spend long there but would recommend the place for sheer convenience and value for money. Had a large communal kitchen which was handy too.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natali25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mallaig
0.1 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
602 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mallaig
69 reviews
2.5 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
310 reviews
6.6 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
16.9 mi away
The Prince's House Hotel
The Prince's House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Glenfinnan
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mallaig Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mallaig Backpackers Lodge

Address: Station Road, Mallaig, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Mallaig
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Mallaig
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Mallaig Backpackers Lodge Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing