We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Little Hostel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mallaig Backpackers Lodge

Mallaig Backpackers Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mallaig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mallaig Backpackers Lodge
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Little Hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

Easy to find - I recognised it from the photos on their website. I stayed two nights in this hostel. Upon arrival the owner was friendly and showed us where our bunks were (they are pre-allocated because often people arrive around midnight on the train). It is a small hostel and more like staying in a real home. It has a kitchen with dining tables and a very cosy living room with sofas, plentiful local information/magazines and a TV. Sea views from all rooms. The bathroom, bedding and kitchen were very clean. There is a big, tall radiator in the bathroom for drying clothes etc. There is a co-op opposite which is open very late so easy to get supplies. Both nights I stayed in this hostel all the other guests were very friendly and we chatted in the living room most of the night. The bunks were very comfy. There was a private roof area where the owner let us store our bikes, which was great.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyMTBer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    11
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
3
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

I stayed here with a group of friends the night before catching the ferry to Rum. Arrived late at night and left early the next morning so didn't spend long there but would recommend the place for sheer convenience and value for money. Had a large communal kitchen which was handy too.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natali25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

Just 2 dorms, a kitchen / dining room, and lounge. Basic and informal. Great kitchen. A bit like staying in a student house.... in a good way. Would suggest making a reservation before you arrive, as can get quite busy with late night arrivals on the last train to Mallaig.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

We arrived at this hostel on the 2nd September having travelled from the Inner Hebrides. Due to ferry times we knew we would be arriving late and therefore we had been in the day before to book beds as well as having multiple conversations with the Hostel during the day of arrival to keep them informed. However upon arrival we were confronted by what seemed to be the Hostel manager for that night who was both rude and unwelcoming. She said we were lucky to have our beds even though we had been in contact with them throughout the day. She then proceeded to read us the "Riot act" and demanded that we be in by 11.30pm despite there being a late key available to hostel residents.

This seems like a nice hostel which looks to be clean, warm and in a good location. Other members of staff were pleasant but we felt we could not stay in a place where one particular member of staff was so patronising and disrespectful. Highland Hospitality was severely lacking in this Hostel. On this basis we cannot recommend it to any travellers
or friends of ours who may find themselves in need of a bed in Mallaig.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HamishNapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2009

This is a very useful stopover - the only hostel in this busy fishing village and gateway port to Skye, Knoydart and the Small Isles. There are just twelve beds in two dorms, a kitchen, sitting room and two bathrooms. It's clean and well-equipped, and the people who run it are friendly. Good value at 14.50 GBP in 2009.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhmellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix, VI
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2007

We were doing the scenic train to Mallaig, so just needed an overnight there. Sheena's Backpacker's Lodge seemed fine from website, and we weren't disappointed. [--]

It was a block from the station, overlooked the harbor and town, was clean with helpful, friendly staff ,and good restaurant with inside and outside dining areas.

Beds are 13 GBP ($26) in mixed dorm; 2 clean bathrooms with showers, roomy kitchen, and pleasant sitting area. We are seniors, and were not the oldest there, though there were young backpackers as well.

The downstairs Tea Garden restaurant is open all day, and I suggest eating while the lunch menu is still in effect. Dinner was too expensive, though in line with other places in town.

Though guidebooks said Mallaig was nothing much to see, we enjoyed the harbor-front atmosphere and small village feel......but of course, we were lucky enough to be there on a sunny day. Area is noted for hiking, but it's also possible to do some exploring of nearby towns by bus or train.

Helpful?
7 Thank Cruzan-Gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mallaig
0.1 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
2.5 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
6.6 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Mission Bunkhouse
The Mission Bunkhouse
#1 of 5 in Mallaig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
3.5 mi away
GlenanCross GuestHouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mallaig Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mallaig Backpackers Lodge

Property: Mallaig Backpackers Lodge
Address: Station Road, Mallaig, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Mallaig
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Mallaig
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Mallaig Backpackers Lodge Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing