We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpassed our expectations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mallaig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaview Guest House
Ranked #2 of 25 Mallaig B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had not expected the boutique-hotel nature of this guests house, so what a lovely surprise! The rooms are beautifully done and the [shared] bathroom absolutely first-class. Add to that a lovely breakfast room (and breakfast) and reception and classy, friendly staff. Mallaig overall was the clear highlight of our U.K. tour, and this guest house played no small part in that.

Even the toiletries (Scottish Fine Soaps in heavenly Sea Kelp) and woolen bed throws (Bronte) are brilliant. Love, love, love this place!

Yes, it needs wi-fi, although we did manage . . .

By the way, please note that any less-than-glowing reviews are old, I expect prior to current management or at least prior to a thorough renovation and poshing judging by photos.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annoulaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 302 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

This guest house is incredibly handily placed by the cute little town centre. Fiona is most welcoming and helpful. The room is modern, clean and very pleasant with its own sink. The bathroom is separate but handy and we never had to wait for it at all. The shower is strong, hot and has enough space for a 6ft + guy. Breakfast was excellent. It is a one minute walk from a good choice of restaurants. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d_h_will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights, room was attractively decorated, spotless, spacious, overlooking the harbour. Fiona was welcoming and the breakfast room was a delightful bright airy room with a choice of everything you could possibly wish for (including wonderful porridge) The cooked breakfasts were delicious, faultless. I would certainly go back to Seaview if/when I return to Mallaig.

Room Tip: This has to be the best B&B stay ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Very comfortable, nice views, good breakfast and a friendly welcome. What more can one ask - and a short distance from the station. A welcome place to stay after a long but enjoyable day on the West Highland Line.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DA20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed a night here after a trip on the West Highland railway. Everything about this place deserves the highest praise possible: a lovely warm welcome from Fiona; a spotlessly clean, well-appointed room and a wonderful breakfast. Probably the best B&B we've stayed in, for sure. Thank you so much from Anna and Julian (Somerset).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I have never stayed in a B & B before as I prefer hotels where privacy is ensured. However, I decided I wanted to experience a B & B so I could cross it off my "bucket" list.

I chose the Seaview based upon its Trip Advisor reviews and location as I was taking the Jacobite Steam Train to Mallaig. I was not disappointed in any way.

Fiona was very welcoming, showed us to our room and made sure everything was perfect. I could not find a speck of dirt in the room or anywhere in the guest areas. Breakfast consisted of many choices including a full Scottish or lighter fare if you are so inclined, was delicious and well presented.

I highly recommend the Seaview to anyone passing through Mallaig.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Very nice house, Great welcome and help from the host. Very good breakfast and service. The house is right next to the town centre (strolling distance for all Mallaig) but it is a quiet place to stay. It does have off street parking, but it is a bit steep and tight. But it was good and I will use it again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsbob_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mallaig
0 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
626 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mallaig
72 reviews
2.5 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
16.6 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
634 reviews
3.4 mi away
GlenanCross House
GlenanCross House
#1 of 10 in Morar
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Guest House

Address: Seaview Main Street | Inverness-shire, Mallaig PH41 4QS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Mallaig
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mallaig
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1847 this grand house is now a 6 bedroomed Guest House most with a view of Whitby Abbey and the little fishermans cottages cascading down to the Harbour. Your hosts Brian & Abby have restored this house, adding a bit of their pasion for "art deco". You will be assured of a comforable and stylish stay. Brian being a Swiss trained Chef puts on a breakfast to die for. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaview Guest House Mallaig, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing