We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the best B&B we've ever stayed in”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mallaig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaview Guest House
Ranked #2 of 25 Mallaig B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Even though we didn't book early enough to get a sea view room, we loved this B&B. Everything was newly fitted and luxurious.

Breakfast was delicious including lovely creamy porridge as well as tasty cooked breakfast and fresh fruit, and we were positively invited to eat as much as we liked.

Fiona was very friendly and really helpful in providing us with equipment to clean our boots after a particularly boggy walk, and dried them overnight for us.

The location is very convenient for the station and ferry, as well as eating out. We even saw a pair of otters off the harbour wall at dusk; the wildlife highlight of our holiday!

Room Tip: We were at the back with no sea view, but still a pleasant outlook over the small garden, and very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RDH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 302 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great comfortable room with basic Sky TV package. Tunnocks tea cakes and coffee biscuits to welcome you.

For breakfast I had scrambled eggs and smoked salmon which was very well cooked and melt in the mouth.

Fiona is a lovely host and was always up for a bit of banter as were those who served you in the morning.

They are about to close for the winter and do some work to the place but the only thing I would change is the wifi. In this day and age people assume they will have access to the internet, especially on business trips.

I'll be back if I'm ever back in Mallaig :) (Internet providing)

Room Tip: Room 5 overlooks the carpark. I believe all the other rooms have a good view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wolfbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed for two nights with a couple of friends. "Seaview" is centrally located for trains, ferries, and restaurants, although most places are in Mallaig! Having travelled by train for eight hours, Fiona was a very welcoming host. The decor throughout is tasteful, discrete, immaculate and comfortable, as were our rooms. The breakfasts were excellent, all you expect but much better with such a good choice of fruits, yoghurts, cheeses, cereals, pain au chocolat, oat cakes, and of course porridge, followed by a choice of freshly cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Wendy834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great location with sea views over the bay and out to sea. The comunications befroe the trip to book were quick and helpful. When we got there we wer not let down like some places we have been that look great in the photoes but are not as good when you get there. This place was better clean fresh and to a high standard. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobR1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

I've previously stayed here overnight on trips to the Small Isles. The guesthouse is in an excellent central location in Mallaig, close to restaurants, train station and ferry terminal. On arrival I was made very welcome. The bedroom was immaculate and included digital tv and tea & coffee facilities. The shared bathroom was spacious and clean with an excellent shower (there was also a bath). Cooked breakfast was terrific. Highly recommended and I hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tao_Wild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Fiona was a great host and also an excellent cook. We arrived here on the ferry after visiting beautiful Skye and Mull. We had a room with views of the harbour. Extremely clean and pet free with tasteful,modern decor, a good bed and ensuite. It was great watching the ferry come and go but very quiet with double glazed windows. Parking is easy with level access to the front door.
Breakfast was plentiful with fruit and the best porridge I've ever eaten available alongside juice and cereal.
We tried about 32 different b & bs in this price range and Seaview was in the top 3.

Room Tip: We liked the double ensuite with view of the harbour but worth staying in any room to experience thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philippa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Loved our stay in Mallaig - tried to book a twin room but not available (not sure if there are any or just already booked?) so my sister and I plumped for a double; our friend decided to join us and booked the single next door. Loved the Guest House, very clean, great location, amazing breakfast in a beautiful dining room. The only down side but in fairness we knew when we booked was that some rooms have to share a bathroom - great until my friend needed the loo at 5.30am and someone was in the bath meaning she had to wake us to use our en-suite!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SaraNorbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mallaig
0 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
627 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mallaig
72 reviews
2.5 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
16.6 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
634 reviews
3.4 mi away
GlenanCross House
GlenanCross House
#1 of 10 in Morar
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Guest House

Address: Seaview Main Street | Inverness-shire, Mallaig PH41 4QS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Mallaig
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mallaig
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1847 this grand house is now a 6 bedroomed Guest House most with a view of Whitby Abbey and the little fishermans cottages cascading down to the Harbour. Your hosts Brian & Abby have restored this house, adding a bit of their pasion for "art deco". You will be assured of a comforable and stylish stay. Brian being a Swiss trained Chef puts on a breakfast to die for. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaview Guest House Mallaig, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing