We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome for us and the dogs”
Review of Chlachain Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mallaig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chlachain Inn
Ranked #5 of 25 Mallaig B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We arrived in Morar at our B&B and asked Gary, one of the owners, where we could find a dog friendly restaurant for an evening meal, he recommended the Chlachain Inn and we were not disappointed. The meet and greet from Danny & Cameron was so friendly and it was nice to find somewhere that our 2 dogs could go in so we didn't have to eat outdoors in February. Ross the chef is a culinary expert, he makes everything from scratch and as my hubby said his coleslaw is delicious and the best he's ever tasted. We enjoyed the food & experience so much that we returned every evening during our 5 day holiday and for a special treat on the last night the guys supplied a soup bowl filled with coleslaw specially for my hubby which he loved. The prices are very reasonable and the portions are huge, I only managed a pudding once because the main course was so filling. Thank You Danny, Cameron & Ross for making our dining experience so good every night and we will see you again in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MULLEN111164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 196 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

Only a few minutes walk from Mallaig Station, a friendly welcome awaits at the Chlachain Inn. Our room was clean, bright and modern. The entrance to the accommodation is up a fairly steep set of steps but the room was comfortable. We were lucky to have room 4, which has French doors leading out onto a small balcony with views of the sea, which would be even better in summer than in February.

We ate twice in the bar/restaurant, sitting in front of a raring fire, it does not get much better than this!

Room Tip: Room 4 has a small balcony with sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TysonLivingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

On a day trip from Fort William we called in for lunch which was excellent as was the welcome. Background music was traditional Scottish accordian which made for a nice atmosphere The premises were spotlessly clean and comfortable. Well done lads.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tower2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stopped over at the Chlachain Inn during a one night stay on the mainland from the Isle of Rum.
I received a warm welcome from the owner, who went on to show me to my well-appointed room, taking time to explain the workings of the heating, which worked very well ( thankfully as it was a freezing night), everything worked well , plus there was stacks of piping hot water.
The featured bar menu on the night of my stay was Chinese, this was obviously highly popular with the locals, as the Inn offers a “take away” service. My food arrived in no time at all and was probably one of the best Chinese meals I have had in a long time.
A comfy and warm night’s sleep was followed with a wholesome breakfast, just the ticket.
A great find………the Chlachain will see me back again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We spent a wonderful two nights at the Chlachain Inn late November with family and friends. The owners and staff were very friendly and provided excellent food and service. Ross is a wonderful Chef and Danny cooks a great traditional breakfast - even provided bananas when requested!!!

We enjoyed sitting by the fire and having a few drinks it was very homely. The restaurant and bar area are nicely decorated - warm and inviting. The locals are friendly and always looking for a chat.

Mallaig is a nice area and the weather was good even though it was late Novemeber.

We would definitately stay at the Chlachain Inn again and maybe take the ferry to Skye next time.

Room Tip: We had the room with the balcony, the sunrise was just beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyB48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Popped into the Chlachain at lunch time on a bitterly cold Saturday in November looking for some warmth and a hot snack. We were not disappointed in either respect.
We were immediately impressed by the roaring log fire and the friendly welcome from the bar staff.
Having ordered some drinks - the ladies loved the bowl sized coffees, we ordered Lentil and Country Highland Vegetable soup with brown and white crusty breads.
The soup was terrific, hot and tasty and the heated bread complemented it beautifully, setting us up for the rest of the afternoon.
We would have loved to stay longer but were only there on a day trip from Fort William. We therefore did not get the opportunity to sample the dinners or accommodation which is a pity judging by other reviews.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shugg1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Spent 1 night at the Chlachain and was really impressed with the comfortable surroundings and accomodation, good food and excellent service, with all staff being friendly and attentive.Also had the opportunity to sample the food at their first 'Chinese' night with proved popular. Would definately go back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mallaig hotels
0 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
626 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mallaig
72 reviews
2.5 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
GlenanCross House
GlenanCross House
#1 of 10 in Morar
69 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mission Bunkhouse
The Mission Bunkhouse
#1 of 5 in Mallaig
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chlachain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chlachain Inn

Address: Davies Brae, Mallaig PH41 4QY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Mallaig
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mallaig
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Chlachain Inn Mallaig, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing