We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We cast our vote with the vast majority”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Highland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mallaig
Reviewed June 22, 2014

As I write, 194 people had reviewed this hotel and 144 of them rated it either excellent or very good, with a mere 12 people rating it below average. This speaks for itself!

"Rooms very dated and overpriced for what you get", says one of these 12, but our Classic room was neither of these things. Nor was the Superior room which had just been serviced and awaited the arrival of new guests, whose open door provided an opportunity to inspect.

Our twin-bedded room was spacious, high ceilinged, spotlessly clean (and high standards of housekeeping kept it so throughout our 4 night's stay), had ample wardrobe space and very comfortable beds with good bed linen. Missing, however, was the state-of-the-art TV with 60in screen usually found in the bedrooms of Sheraton Grand hotels but, since we did not visit Mallaig to watch TV programmes, the little one provided was adequate for morning news bulletins. Fittings and fixings in the bathroom were sparkling clean, the walk-in shower spacious and efficient and the hot water supply totally reliable.

We found the restaurant to be attractive and relaxing and, on more than one occasion, asked our waitress to convey our compliments to the chef whose kitchen produced some excellent dishes. Did the reviewer from Fareham genuinely believe that he should be able to order a generous dish of the most plump, fresh and succulent langoustines with all the accompaniments, with no supplement over the dinner-inclusive rate being applied? We found that the "meal deal", as he called it, offered a wide and varied choice for anyone not wishing to pay what could only be described as a modest supplement.

For many visitors like ourselves, a stay in Mallaig provides a wonderful opportunity to make day trips by ferry to islands such Skye, Eigg. Muck and Rum. The Essex bingoqueens give poor advice by suggesting that "you could do it in a afternoon [sic] as there are many buses from Fort William". There is in fact only a morning bus, one in the afternoon and the last in early evening.

Returning to food, breakfasts are excellent with freshly prepared and piping hot dishes served efficiently at table by a team of delightful and friendly girls for whom nothing is too much trouble.

No, the West Highland Hotel is not a member of "Leading Hotels of the World" but it does a pretty good job in providing comfortable accommodation and very good food for not a lot of money.

Finally.....and here comes the sting in the tail.....should the owners read this review they should note that, but for the shameful neglect of the long continuous external handrail and the steps and pathway giving pedestrian access to the hotel, it would have a rating of excellent rather than very good. Bare wood, peeling paintwork and unsightly tufts of weeds give a poor impression, make it look unsafe and not what guests arriving, especially for the first time, want to see.

Room Tip: When booking, request a refurbished room
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank billyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
There are newer reviews for West Highland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 604 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

very disappointed with this hotel , needs decorating , rooms very dated, over priced for what you get, lovely village but not much there so if thinking of staying one night is enough you could do it in a afternoon as there are many buses from fort william ,

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bingoqueensEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Our offer of bed, breakfast and evening meal with a deluxe double room was, not so deluxe. Can not fault the meal and the lounge area and staff where very good, but the room failed. The meal deal did not include any of the supplemented meals, and extra, to be expected was charged. Ok for our one night stopover, before getting the ferry to Skye. Limited places to stay in Mallaig.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

The West Highland Hotel does a pretty good job in trying circumstances. Back in the mists of time, Mallaig may have been a cute little fishing village and thus, perhaps, a tourist destination in its own right. But now it’s a grim ferry port at the end of the line, a shed-filled transit camp where no sound-minded visitor en route to Skye would want to spend more than a night. So, trying to keep a big Edwardian (?) place like the West Highland viable and up to standard must be a constant challenge. It seems to have found its niche in the budget market – there was a coach load of contented-looking continentals there when we were.
Outwardly, the hotel looks in need of a lick of paint - and more. Inwardly, though, it does its best to fight off ageing, without total success. However, the dining room looks smart enough and the breakfast was perfectly OK.
As for the hotel’s main bedrooms, it would be improper to comment, as we eschewed an upstairs double room in favour of twin beds in The Lodge, a hut at the back. This building had seen better days, but – fair dos – the room we were billeted in had a bath in the en suite, the water was hot, both kettle and superannuated telly worked and the beds, although not Ritz standard, weren’t the disaster one might have expected on first sight. I’m confident the main bedrooms would have been plusher, if more expensive. If I could have knocked half a star off location and rooms categories below (for The Lodge, that is) I would have done but, all told, the £40 p.p.p.n we paid seemed fair enough.

Room Tip: The Lodge is budget accommodation only.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnMcDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Loved this hotel. We were given the choice of two rooms so opted for the more expensive twin room with fabulous sea views. Room was beautiful, clean and comfortable.

The lounge area is restful and in keeping with the Highland theme, the sun lounge is warm with lovely views

The owners and the staff were lovely, friendly and very helpful.

The seafood meal in the restaurant was fabulous (but not the wire holder used to support the platter on the table which was ugly and meant we couldn't see the food as it was too high). Breakfast was excellent.

The wifi wasn't too reliable but hey- we were on holiday so we really should have ditched the device!

Room Tip: Pay more and get a sea view and larger room, its definitely worth it
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie1058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We didn't stay here but did go in for a breakfast having failed to find anything satisfactory elsewhere in Mallaig. Although we arrived very close to the end of their breakfast service they happily set us a table for 6 and served us a very acceptable breakfast. You help yourself to juice, cereals, yogurts, fruits, toast and are then served the hot element at you table. The full Scottish was pretty good (although the sausage was not the tastiest) and the smoked salmon and scrambled egg was also good.The price of £12.50 was fair enough in the circumstances.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Poconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

My daughter and I returned to Mallaig and visited this hotel again, and we were fortunate enough to find a vacancy amongst fully booked nights.
It would be easy to find fault in the room we were given; it faced the car-park at the rear for a start, and there was a shower but no bath. The towel rail came off in my hand (but went back on very easily) and it had a slightly cramped feeling that could be construed as cosy. And when you look long enough out the back you can actually see beyond the car-park, and enjoy a beautiful view of the hills and East Bay. Mallaig is a wonderfully quaint Highland village that is befitting of a hotel with this character. It will never be a four or five star establishment, nor should it be, and neither will it be a generic and faceless repetition of an conceit.
I have stayed in this hotel several times now, and here is the common thread. The beds are comfortable, and the linen smells and feels like new. I always find it easy to get a good night's sleep here. Further, I like to sample the restaurant. We found the service very friendly and cordial, the waiting staff always happy to entertain my daughter's fun and fantasies with a smile, which kind of makes the trip worthwhile in its own way. The food was fresh and vibrant, served in a well appointed restaurant with a homely atmosphere, clean and crisp linen on the table and happy and smiling staff. The whole environment is one of charm and tradition. The mood is very easy, and help is always available should you find the need to ask.
This hotel is far from flawless, but where is? However, it does offer all that it possibly can to the visitor, and the proprietors are some of the most helpful people you could meet. It is easy to find fault here in this hotel, but you cannot doubt the honest sentiments of the owners. Once again after another visit here I am left in no doubt whatsoever that Gavin and Sine will do anything in their power to make your stay here as memorable as possible for you. If you have a problem, all you have to do is ask.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradscorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mallaig
2.5 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mallaig
69 reviews
6.5 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
9.8 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
17.1 mi away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Highland Hotel

Address: Mallaig PH414QZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Mallaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mallaig
Price Range: $108 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your West Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Highland Mallaig
West Highland Hotel Mallaig, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing