We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Highland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mallaig
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We travelled as a group of 4 people - ( 1 couple & 2 singles). Upon arriving at the hotel which we had booked well in advance the couple were put in a room in the main hotel but the 2 single people were told that the hotel was full and we had been placed in 'The Lodge' outside. They reduced our bill from £80 each per night to £70 each because of this. We had little option but to agree as we arrived in the evening and were leaving in the morning by 10.00.
The lodge is basically a portakabin with 4 rooms in. The main entrance door doesn't shut properly and the sloped and stepped path to it is not lit so we we couldn't to see path back in the dark. The portakabin rooms are cold, and don't seem that clean. Very overpriced, I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 626 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

I spent three nights with my husband and two kids. rooms have plenty of space, great walk-in shower, fantastic views, all-in-all, a very comfortable room. The staff were very friendly and always helpful. Food was great. Gotta love the kippers!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The moment we arrived at the West Highland Hotel, looked down at the view, received our room keys (and they were real room keys) and were shown to our room by lovely staff, we knew we were in for a treat. We just couldn't tear our eyes away from that view. We felt such peace, and with such comfortable and clean bedrooms and comfy arm chairs in the lounge and bar The West Highland Hotel did the job for us with 5 stsrs in all categories. We will be back. Such old fashioned hospitality was gratefully received but please could you buy some tomato ketchup for our next stay, chips just don't work without it. Great base for island explorations and view admirings. Thank you so much. Sarah, Chana and gem the doggie.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sarahandgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights at the hotel. Would have liked a superior room but we had our dog with us and they are only allowed in the standard room but very happy with the room (room no 27). Weather was excellent for our stay and had to die for sunsets every night from our room. Staff were very friendly and helpful. My husband is a coeliac and the hotel chef was very helpful adapting meals for him. Meals were good. Sometimes they did not have the choice on the menu as it was coming to the end of the season for them. But overall food was good.
Would recommend staying at the hotel as it is a good base to use the ferries.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night. The room was compact, with a double and a single bed in it, and the furniture was a bit worn, but it was comfortable enough. The view from the window would have been lovely if the weather had been better! The room had tea and coffee-making facilities, which were appreciated.

We had dinner in the hotel. The food was excellent, but it was very much let down by the level of service. The prices were not cheap, but the ambience fell short of what one might expect at these prices. Within one minute of the table beside us being vacated, we had a waitress whipping all of the crockery and cutlery off it, then setting it for breakfast (this was about 8pm).

We had asked what time dinner was served and we were told that it was between 18.30 and 20.30, so we assumed that dinner could be ordered up until 20.30; this wasn't a major issue for us, apart from the gap between courses being kept very short (a three-course meal with wine was over in 55 minutes), but the business men beside us asked for more bread to accompany their cheeseboard and were told that it was 20.30 and service was finished, and this was after they had spent at least £90 on their meal and drinks.

This was a real shame, because the food was very good: the scallops were particularly good, whether in garlic butter or with chorizo and peppers - one customer tasted the scallop starter and immediately asked to change his main course to scallops as well! Langoustines were a good size and also very tasty.

Breakfast is also served in the dining room, with great views over the harbour and out to the islands. A buffet table has breakfast cereals, fruit, yoghurt and fruit juices, with sliced bread and a toaster. Cooked options are available to order and are well-cooked and nicely presented.

This is a nice enough place to stay, at reasonable prices, and I would recommend the restaurant for dinner, particularly the scallops - but go early so that you have time to enjoy the food!

Room Tip: Rooms to the front have the best views. There is no lift, so there are a lot of stairs to the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M1DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Very friendly staff, couldn't do enough for us. Some of our party had walking sticks and although the hotel is only 300 metres from the station the young manager came down in his car and picked the ladies up. The hotel was spotlessly clean. Dinner was lovely and served by very pleasant staff. After our meal we were able to use the conservatory to have our coffee and fun and games. Breakfast was beautifully cooked and once again served by friendly staff. We would definitely go back.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My sister and I stayed one night in this charming hotel. The staff were lovely, friendly and helpful. The room had a fabulous view, albeit the bed was small and we didn't get twin beds. The staff did pull down the couch so we didn't have to sleep together. I love my sister, but long gone are the days when we could share a bed! The chef prepared a seafood platter for dinner, it was the best seafood I've ever had and I have eaten shellfish all over the world! The breakfast was delicious, my sister said the sausages were the tastiest she has ever had. I had the locally caught kipper, took some work to debone but the fish was so tasty, so worth it. In the evening the hotel had a fiddler and guitarist, very peaceful and relaxed atmosphere. I would recommend the hotel, prices are high when hotel is full, but on quieter evenings you can get a deal. Unfortunately it was busy when we were there so had to pay full price!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank grayani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mallaig
2.5 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mallaig
72 reviews
6.5 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
9.8 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
16.6 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Highland Hotel

Address: Mallaig PH414QZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Mallaig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mallaig
Price Range: $109 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Highland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your West Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Highland Mallaig
West Highland Hotel Mallaig, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing