We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and service”
Review of An Cala

An Cala
Ranked #2 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Mallaig
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Cafe, Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Homemade is our speciality. Various cakes, tray bakes and delicious scones made daily, have them with jam and butter or lashings of fresh whipped cream. All our ingredients are locally sourced for our soups and sandwiches, also we keep a stock of gluten free bread. With the local butcher providing all our meat in particular for our amazing Hot Roast Rolls. The Local fish merchant supplies the smoked haddock for our ever popular Cullen Skink, the creamiest way to have Haddock. A warm welcome awaits you, along with many different teas all served in a pot and freshly ground coffee. Which we can serve with soya milk should that be your preference. We are just across the street from the railway station to the left and enroute to the harbour.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good value and service”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We called in on a quiet Sunday afternoon having travelled from Fort William on the regular diesel train service. I had delicious home made broccoli soup and a cup of excellent coffee. My wife had a very good scone and hot chocolate. We both really enjoyed our light lunch and will try the place again if ever we are in Mallaig. The place is handy if you are waiting for the ferry to Skye.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    21
    7
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Walked out in disgust”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Arrived in Mallaig on the steam train and had already decided beforehand from the leaflet on the train that we would eat at this location. It was a cold, wet and windy day and as there were 4 of us and a 13 week old baby in a pram, we chose one of the few remaining tables. We were immediately approached by a staff member who informed us that our pram, which was at the top of the table was "in the way" and we'd have to "shift". I pointed out that the only remaining table was by the door and therefore the pram would then block this and our baby would be in the draft but this was met by a shrug response. I stated if we were in the way we would leave and we were ushered out the door!! Clearly this business does not think customer service is a priority.
We didn't have any food so I'm unable to comment on that, however I wouldn't recommend anyone visiting here purely from the way we were treated.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lolls419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda_McLean11, Owner at An Cala, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We would to point out that you were asked politely to move to an alternative table due to safety considerations for your baby in the pram. The pram was obstructing the waitresses coming to and from the kitchen with hot food items, and posed a serious health and safety risk.

You took it upon yourself to take offence to this request and leave the premises, which we had to assist you with the double doors, as we would any customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

After a wonderful journey on the Jacobite Express from Fort William, we decided to try An Cala for a light lunch and wished we hadn't bothered. 3 of us ordered the Tomato soup which was watery and tasteless, I hope it wasn't homemade! My daughter ordered a baked potato, which I think had been warmed up from the day before and quite dry and equally tasteless. We wanted to order some ice-cream or cake (we were still hungry), but the waitress clearly couldn't cope with the sudden rush of customers from the train and we gave up waiting and bought elsewhere. One good point - they did have free wi-fi, but unfortunately couldn't accept a credit card for payment - no explanation either, too bad!! This is 2012 after all!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LP519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennethmont, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Almost good”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Arrived just before midday to be told our youngest couldn't have a bacon roll as the breakfast's had just finshed!!
Sandwiches were okay but the bowl of soup was somewhat lacking in substance.
We thought for what we had we paid a little too much.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice but....”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Took my family and they all chose toasted sandwiches and cake for afters. They enjoyed their meals - so far so good. My choice was limited to a rather bland tasteless bowl of scotch broth as I am diabetic. Its a shame that there was no other meals suitable for people with my condition. The menu needs to be more varied as I'm sure with a bit of thought, the odd seafood salad or cheese/egg dish could be made avalable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinglepeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda_McLean11, Owner at An Cala, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Cafe.

We would like to point out that as a coffe and sandwich bar, we have a wide selection of different egg, cheese and seafood dishes, representing nearly 50% of our menu.

On your next visit please ask a member of staff to explain which dishes are suitable for diabetics - basically most items on the main lunch menu are, however the cakes may not be.

Our soups are made using traditional Highland recipes and we endevour to make them vegetarian friendly, which sometimes results in a less intense flavour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed An Cala also viewed

 

Been to An Cala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing