We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tour of Scotland”
Review of Heatherlea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mallaig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heatherlea
Ranked #5 of 25 Mallaig B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2014

excellent and roomy accommodation and food the friendly proprietors were only too happy to please and nothing was too much trouble The B & B is about a mile outside Mallaig in a quiet location overlooking rough countryside
highly recommend

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gasman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for Heatherlea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 136 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed at this B&B on the first night of our trip. Unfortunately we did not read their website properly and walked there from Mallaig, in streaming rain of course. The welcome was very warmly and we were immediately offered a lift to the ferry terminal the next morning.

The room was impeccable, very clean and modern. It was so quiet and comfy, I dare to say that we slept better than at home ;) Also, very nice views to Eigg and Rum, if the weather permits.

Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

This B n B was very clean and comfortable and our hosts really friendly and helpful . They collected us from the train station and delivered us back the next day. A pleasant walk into Mallaig (only about 20 minutes) with views of Eigg and Rum. Delicious breakfast. Great views from our room. Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 252CDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

A wonderful B&B, great value for money, with excellent accommodation and food. Great location, great views Looking forward to returning.
Our hosts, Nick and Lindsay made us very welcome, and were happy to sit and chat with us in their beautiful garden. The whole place is very clean and airy.Just perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARTIN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I can't really add any superlatives to those who have gone before me. Nick and Lindsay are fantastic hosts who take great pride in offering wonderful hospitality, fabulous breakfasts, in bright, spotlessly clean and comfortable accommodation. (Three ensuite rooms). The views are fabulous and it's an easy 15 -20 minute walk to Mallaig centre where there are several good pubs and restaurants. We were given lots of information about the area and they obviously care deeply about their heritage. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Heatherlea and would definitely go back if we are in the area again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank chairdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed three nights. Full scottish the first morning, scrambled eggs and smoked salmon the second and kippers the last morning. We needed the walk into mallaig and the walk to the loch at the back. Our room was great with views to the isles on one side and views to the hills on the other. Perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F2154PRmichaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

What a great place this is. It is located a 20 minute walk from the centre of Mallaig. But, if like me, you are having a heavy case you can be picked up from the station. The location of the house is stunning, from my bed I was able to see Egg and Rum. The room is really luxurious and roomy. The bathroom is large as well and has a power shower, lovely fluffy towels and toiletries. Of course there is a coffee and tea tray. The room has satellite tv as well. All in all the room made me feel really welcome. It also has a television lounge. Breakfast is excellent, the tables are all well placed so you can enjoy the scenery. They offer continental and full Scottish breakfast. One morning I had scrambled eggs with salmon, really very yummie! Nick and Lindsay go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. They have a whole range of books and maps and are very willing to give you advice. The garden looks lovely as well, from it a path leads towards Loch An Nostarie, a stunning place. There is a picknick tabel at the edge of the water, a really magical place. A big compliment to Nick and Lyndsay, this place really ticks all the boxes!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Cora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mallaig
1.7 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
151 reviews
0.8 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
602 reviews
5.8 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
0.9 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mallaig
69 reviews
16.3 mi away
The Prince's House Hotel
The Prince's House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Glenfinnan
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heatherlea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heatherlea

Address: Glasnacardoch, Mallaig PH41 4RH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Mallaig
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mallaig
Price Range: $34 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run bed & breakfast situated in the outskirts of Mallaig in Glasnacardoch, which lies between the picturesque villages of Morar and Mallaig on the Road to the Isles. The house is set in a secluded location with stunning views over to the islands of Rum and Eigg. Our accomodation comprises 2 double rooms and 1 twin room each with en-suite showers, tea and coffee making facilities and satellite television. Our guests have the use of a guest lounge with a wood burning stove for when the days are cooler. Guests arriving by public transport can be collected from Mallaig on request and dropped off at the railways station or ferry terminal on departure. We are open all year except for Christmas, New Year, the first 2 weeks in October and the first weekend in August when the family are involved in the Mallaig & Morar Highland Games. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heatherlea Mallaig, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing