We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great seafood” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chlachain Inn Restaurant

Chlachain Inn Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Mallaig
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Peebles, Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Had a great lunch in here over Easter weekend. We had fantastic seafood, mussels with Stornoway black pudding, bacon & cider and cullen skink, in front of the coal fire. Decent kids menu, good selection of Scottish beers, really friendly staff, and they let us bring our dog in too. Highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gutterbluid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    116
    36
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Had a lovely meal here on a recent visit to Arisaig over Easter. The menu had changed only the week previously. 3 of the party had soup starter which they all said was fantastic. My main course was seafood chowder. If you are a fish lover I would recommend this dish. It was amazing!! The only reason I am not giving this restaurant 5 stars is that even though we had booked and there was a reserved sign on two of the tables, we had to wait for the table to be cleared and cleaned, even though there was only one other table with people sitting eating. There was also a pungent food smell in the air when we walked in even though there were air con units on the ceiling. Other than these two minor faults I would still thoroughly recommend the food. We will certainly call again on our next visit to Mallaig.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relevant Local Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

First class meals with LOCAL produce and sea-food. Interesting Scottish beers (Corncrake ****, Dark Isle *****). The place is a mix of mixed-age visitors and trendy young things from the neighbourhood, but all very friendly. Accept dogs with well trained owners. Good sea artwork on walls.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank tadorna-tadorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great food, welcoming fire, good service. Nice beer to boot.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

A great pint of Skye Brewery Red Cullinan ale and a lovely coal fire. The scallops my wife had were lovely and served with an excellent garmish of black pudding and salad. My chicken with stilton and bacon sauce was extremely tasty and served with marvellous twice cooked chips. Desert was superb too. We were wavering between this place and the Steam Inn, but the choice was made easier by the Steam Inn not bothering to open!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank weeesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing with a pint in front of a real fire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Had a really good night in the Clachain. Very friendly staff, plus we had the quiz night. This was great fun, and quite competitive. Definitely worth a visit for a cold beer, and some nice fresh food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chlachain Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chlachain Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing