We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprising”

The Old Forge Public House
Ranked #10 of 12 things to do in Mallaig
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mainland Britain's remotest Pub - Guinness Records. Open all year, creel catches daily landings of loch nevis langoustines, hand dived scallops, estate venison, homemade soups puds and organic breads. 2 real Ales, 11 moorings and showers. Fresh coffee ground to order lattes espressos etc. Open fire, folk music sessions, bring your own instruments or use ours. Midge cream essential! Award winning seafood and great beer. info@theoldforge.co.uk satnav PH414PL 01687 462267
Lancs, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Surprising”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

price of drinks not bad considering the logistics. Didn't eat but the menu looked delicious, with local seafood a speciality.
It's not so big as you might imagine, which is only an issue at Hogmanay or festival time

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Crosmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    11
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ok, not a great range of food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This place got rave reviews on TV recently but I found it fairly average - maybe it's just the dishes we ordered. It's a nice building in a nice location though. I had venison burgers with vegetables (carrots, tomatoes ). Maybe the chef has changed after the TV show was made.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank WalkingBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Billed as the most remote pub in the land, it's worth going for the trip alone. Whilst there, the seafood is a must, if a little on the dear side. But you're only coming here once, right?

Arrive by the Bruce Watt cruises service from Mallaig, then on the return you'll go for a bit of a cruise up Loch Nevis for a spot of porpoise and seal watching. If the weather's good, it's perfect.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Willaim
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

This visit was a part of a day out for my sister and brother in law celebrating their wedding anniversary. The menu arrived and our orders taken promptly. The food was good but a little on the expensive side. We had finished our first drinks just as the food arrived. My husband asked if he could order another round of drinks and was told you ordered drinks at the bar. There was only one other person in the bar at this time Needless to say we didn't go to the bar until after we had ate our meal. Our plates were not cleared away for a long time after we had finished our meal the staff were too busy talking to the three people sitting at the bar. It was not pleasent sitting with our drinks with the plates still on the table. We were all very disappointed with the service and are not likely to eat there again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank ziggy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port louis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely location, disappointing food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We visited on 5th June 2012 and I have to say I was really let down with the food, as was my husband and the table of 2 guys next to us.
It was acceptable, but nothing more. Given that its such a wonderful location I felt the food could have really topped it off. To be fair, it was busy, so maybe better eating earlier (but remember to reserve a table!). The menu isn't very imaginative (what happened to the haggis lasagne that they used to sell!?), practically all seafood based and much the same as any other place on the west coast. This is a shame as the estate sell amazing venison and I'm sure there must be other local meat produce (venison burgers dont count as adult food!)
We really enjoyed our time there, definitely worth a visit, just a shame the food didnt live up to our expectations.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Forge Public House also viewed

 

Been to The Old Forge Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing