We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond the call of duty”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mallaig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Western Isles Guest House
Ranked #14 of 25 Mallaig B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The Watt family bent over backwards to make our stay in Mallaig (very wet, Mallaig) comfortable. The room was excellent and the breakfast overwhelming (try the kippers).
Thoroughly recommended. Try the family ferry to Knoydart too (on a fine day): the afternoon ferry is more in the way of a wildlife cruise.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin And Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 45 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed in Mallaig one day and we rested there, at Western Isles Guest House. Mrs. Jeanette treated us so kindly that we felt like home. The room was absolutely wonderful, with a special view of the harbour. The bathroom clean, a big supply of towels, everything was perfect.

Mrs Jeanette gave us precious advice about restaurants, coffee houses, places to visit and so on.

The breakfast was absolutely ROYAL: tea, coffee, milk, bread, fresh fruit, selection of cereals, egg, bacon.....I never had the stomach as full as I had when we left Mallaig.

No surprise to see that this Guest House is in one of the highest position in the ranking.
Go there, pals!! I never received such a great treatment.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LukePytch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We had a great stay at Western Isles guest house. Jeanette was wonderful - so kind and friendly. Our room was not large but had everything we needed, with a beautiful en-suite bathroom. There were extensive options for breakfast. We were abler to check in right when we got there and Jeanette gave us a choice of two rooms. We'd stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLfromSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Very helpful owners, mother and daughter team, room small but spotlessly clean and comfortable.
We had an ensuite room and were really happy with the facilities, the bathroom was very modern with walk in shower and very clean indeed, there was also a storage shelf for my makeup bag. They also gave us early access to the room which I really appreciated. Breakfast served with loads of tea and coffee.
Mallaig is very small and compact, so it is easier to park your car opposite the B&B and walk into town.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusansBackInScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

A host who was only there where needed and very helpful and friendly when was needed.

Accommodation was clean, ideal and comfortable.

Breakfast was as big or small as you'd want and offered anything you could want.

Price was extremely reasonable.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front which looked 'over the sea to Skye' - host will I'm sure let...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurplePeaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Arrived on a much earlier ferry from Skye than planned owing to threatened gales forecast. The lady of the house allowed me to use the room from around midday onwards which was nice. The room was comfortable and I had a very nice dedicated shower room just opposite. I had a lovely kipper for breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil1947Ilford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stopped for one night before catching the ferry to Skye the following morning. Very friendly hosts who offered advice on where to eat our evening meal. Comfortable beds and very good breakfasts. Rooms a little small but that doesn't really matter for a one nighter.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MilsteadUmpire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mallaig hotels
0.3 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mallaig
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
626 reviews
2.6 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Mission Bunkhouse
The Mission Bunkhouse
#1 of 5 in Mallaig
46 reviews
3.6 mi away
GlenanCross House
GlenanCross House
#1 of 10 in Morar
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Isles Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Isles Guest House

Address: East Bay, Mallaig PH41 4QG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Mallaig
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mallaig
Price Range: $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Western Isles Guest House Mallaig, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing