We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic seafood” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cornerstone Restaurant

Cornerstone Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Mallaig
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

The quality of the food, especially the Langoustines which were superb!! Staff were very nice, attentive and helpful. Nice cosy atmosphere. Best meal we have ever had on the West coast

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Sheilasing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    144
    25
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottish Borders, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Early March 2013, my wife and I ate here following a trip on the west highland railway line from Glasgow. We also stayed in the Cornerstone B&B.

Starters were excellent. We both selected steak for our mains, in hindsight we should have selected one of the fish dishes off the specials board. The steak was cooked very well but was a little fatty. Nevertheless, we both enjoyed our meal and thought it to be good value for money.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank honestview23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, IL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Fish was great. I had the battered haddock and my husband had the breaded. We both thought wed made the best choice. Nice view while enjoying our meals and local beers.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank parker-scanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Deserves to succeed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

A weekday in Mallaig and searching for the recommended experience of local fish and chips. I don't think you would be disappointed if you turn right from the station and within 150 yards you arrive at this very nicely appointed, elegant, first floor restaurant. You ascend on the thick "blackwatch" tartan staircarpet passing the well kept groundfloor toilets. Inside the Restaurant was warm and the tables and tableware well presented. We enjoyed our meal with its harbourside views and enjoyed 3 pots of tea to wash it down. I left thinking the local owner deserves to succeed in making this remote place profitable. We certainly enjoyed our meal and think you would to.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MrBoring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious, fresh food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Cornerstone Restaurant is in the small fishing port of Mallaig, at the end of the railway line. Other restaurants, some good, line the village street, but it's worth walking down a couple of blocks to the Cornerstone on the second floor of the building. The service is excellent and the prices very reasonable, but the big draw is the freshly-made and delicious seafood, delivered in large quantities, and distinctly Scottish. Even classic fish and chips is better: fresh haddock (not cod or whitefish), lightly breaded, and served with a made in-house tartar sauce and perfect chips-- a large plate full! They are also well-known for a Scottish classic dish, cullen skink (gaelic for fish stew). They use fresh haddock, vegetables, cream, and seasonings that make it far above any we had served in other Scottish restaurants or hotels. We recommend the Cornerstone for a great meal in a cozy atmosphere in Mallaig.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cornerstone Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cornerstone Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing