We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves to succeed”

Cornerstone Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Mallaig
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Deserves to succeed”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

A weekday in Mallaig and searching for the recommended experience of local fish and chips. I don't think you would be disappointed if you turn right from the station and within 150 yards you arrive at this very nicely appointed, elegant, first floor restaurant. You ascend on the thick "blackwatch" tartan staircarpet passing the well kept groundfloor toilets. Inside the Restaurant was warm and the tables and tableware well presented. We enjoyed our meal with its harbourside views and enjoyed 3 pots of tea to wash it down. I left thinking the local owner deserves to succeed in making this remote place profitable. We certainly enjoyed our meal and think you would to.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MrBoring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    155
    29
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious, fresh food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Cornerstone Restaurant is in the small fishing port of Mallaig, at the end of the railway line. Other restaurants, some good, line the village street, but it's worth walking down a couple of blocks to the Cornerstone on the second floor of the building. The service is excellent and the prices very reasonable, but the big draw is the freshly-made and delicious seafood, delivered in large quantities, and distinctly Scottish. Even classic fish and chips is better: fresh haddock (not cod or whitefish), lightly breaded, and served with a made in-house tartar sauce and perfect chips-- a large plate full! They are also well-known for a Scottish classic dish, cullen skink (gaelic for fish stew). They use fresh haddock, vegetables, cream, and seasonings that make it far above any we had served in other Scottish restaurants or hotels. We recommend the Cornerstone for a great meal in a cozy atmosphere in Mallaig.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We loved this place, the food and service was fantastic and ended up eating there on both evenings. Great value for money as well.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bumbling-along
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“Plenty competition”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Cornerstone in Mallaig has plenty competition when it comes to fresh seafood, but doesn't need to worry at the moment. We were in at lunch time and it was full. The soup of the day was Chicken and Vegetable and contained plenty vegetables. The Haddock and Chips were the best I've had in a long time and there's the option to have the fish breaded or battered. The Grilled Langoustines in Garlic Sauce were huge and juicy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ctrnmorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uddingston, glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Had a lovely meal in the restaurant while staying above in the lovely bed and breakfast accomodation. Food was pleantiful, good quality and the service efficient. Would have no hesitation in recommending it. Try and book a table overlooking the harbour.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank moirasally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cornerstone Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cornerstone Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing