We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Excellent private tour from cruise stop in Invergordon!

I booked John for a private tour for my husband and myself for our cruise stop in Invergordon on... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Theresa W
,
Cleveland, Ohio
Private tour of the Highlands

We were 5 cousins who made the same trip our mothers had made together in 1982. Out great... read more

Reviewed July 25, 2019
PamelaR904
,
Afton, Minnesota
via mobile
Read all 30 reviews
  
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveler rating
29
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
29
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private tour urquhart castle take photos clava cairns clydesdale horses british isles cruise an excellent guide john port tours van ship highlands beauty overview mother itinerary
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked John for a private tour for my husband and myself for our cruise stop in Invergordon on our British Isles cruise. He is an excellent guide and we really enjoyed our day. It was easy to book ahead of time. He answered all my questions via email when we booked, and followed up before the cruise. He was prompt at the port. We talked about what we wanted to see (Inverness, Urquhart Castle, Cawdor Castle, etc.) and he made a suggested plan for the day which worked out very well. We saw a lot and were not rushed. We had time to stop to take photos while driving in between places. We stopped along small roads to see beautiful vistas, wildlife (hairy coos! and Clydesdale horses), bridges, etc. We first went to Cawdor Castle and beat the group crowds. We then went to Inverness. We appreciated that while we had time to explore Inverness on our own, he suggested we just pick up sandwiches and eat back in his van on the way to the next stop, so we did not spend all our time in the town at a restaurant. In the afternoon we went to Urquhart Castle. We really enjoyed our day. I would recommend John for any cruiser stopping in Invergordon. He is friendly, professional, and knows so much about the area.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonnycrosby, Owner at See The Highlands, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the kind review
It was a pleasure to show you the Highlands
Do come back again to see more of the Highlands Regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2019 via mobile

We were 5 cousins who made the same trip our mothers had made together in 1982. Out great grandfather and grandmother left the highlands to go to America In December 1867. We had a picture of the house he grew up in and a picture of the school where he taught school. We had an address on Shore street in Hilton. John was so wonderful to find the house and the school. John was so patient with us.... as we are all senior citizens. He also took us across the Nigg ferry and showed us many other wonderful sights. We highly recommend John as a tour guide of the Highlands!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank PamelaR904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonnycrosby, Owner at See The Highlands, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2019

Thank you for the kind review you were all great fun especially after the whisky tasting..
So glad that we managed to find all the places that you were wishing to see
Hopefully you will all come back to see more of the Highlands
Regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2019

We hired John to take a group of 6 of us around the Highlands for our shore excursion day. He was waiting for us with his roomy van and did an excellent job of driving us around the Highlands and giving us a commentary of the area as we went. As the weather was a bit challenging, we worked with John to tweak our itinerary to try to take best advantage of the day. We visited Cawdor Castle, the Clava Cairns and Culloden Battlefield and drove by Urquhart Castle, Beauty, Loch Ness and Inverness. Despite our late port arrival time, thanks to John, we managed to get a good overview of this lovely area and arrived back at the ship in a timely way.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank L-JCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonnycrosby, Owner at See The Highlands, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2019

Thank you for the kind review So glad that you enjoyed the tour It was a pleasure to show you the Highlands Regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2018

We selected See The Highlands private tour which took four of us to Dunrobin Castle, the Falls of Shin, Millionaires View and Dornoch. Donnie was an excellent tour guide and a very caring and concerned individual, as one person in our party was not well. He went out of his way for us. Dunrobin Castle was a real highlight with it's falconry show. The tour itself for four people was very affordable (way less than the cruise line's 50-passenger tours) and we were able to customize our entire day

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Beja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at See The Highlands, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

So glad that you enjoyed the tour
I was already booked for that day however I was able to arrange a tour for you with another guide that I trust to ensure that you have a great day
Thanks for the nice review
Regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2018

If you are travelling by train, plane or boat and need transport in the highlands, John is the person to call. John has such a knowledge and passion about the area that even just transportation from point A to point B is so much more, as he will stop to allow you to take pictures, explain the history and current goings-on of the various locales throughout the highlands and also even go off track if there is something worth seeing. He is a great source of local knowledge and advice on where to go and what to visit. He is prompt and professional and his minibus is new and clean. A trip or two with John on your visit to the highlands can add so much more to the experience.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank rksdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Owner at See The Highlands, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Thanks for your kind review
I do try to make people's tours as interesting as possible even just run of the mill journeys to airports etc and you were great company along the way
Thanks once again
Regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews