We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochcarron
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Manse Lochcarron
Ranked #3 of 12 Lochcarron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Il
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We absolutely loved our stay in Lochcarron at the Old Manse. The house and the hosts were great. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. You should definitely stay here if you are in the area. Thank you to Stuart and Susan for the hospitality, great breakfasts, and good advice on the area. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura_lewis26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    15
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
47
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs NY
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our hosts, Susan and Stuart, having managed the Old Manse for only a few months, were wonderfully helpful and anticipated our every need. The rooms aren't large but are well appointed and very comfortable. Spend the extra few pounds for the rooms with views of Loch Carron.

Breakfasts were top notch with a large variety of continental offerings as well as scrumptious full breakfasts, all very healthy (well, maybe not the haggis) and delicious.

We met an elderly couple from South Africa as well as a young chap from England who was bicycling around Scotland and also a Welshman who was working on some nearby salmon hatcheries. This is a small, intimate B&B and we were surprised to find one of the other rooms was occupied by a newlywed couple who live about 10 miles from us back in upstate NY.

We also strongly recommend having the three course dinner they will prepare if you give them prior notice. Great Scottish dishes including the sticky toffee pudding.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This converted vicarage looks out over the Loch. A beautiful position and the rooms are pleasant and the breakfast and evening meal were excellent. A great place to stay with splendid views and lots of bird life in the garden. Although I arrived with no booking the owner even prepared an evening meal which after a day’s driving was most welcome. The parking is off road and secure and I was lucky to find this place.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the front of the house with the views over the Loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Excellent B&B with Lovely facilities and Scenery that is just the best you will ever see. The hosts are very helpful and able to help with any thing that you may want. I will certainly use this B&B again. Loch Carron is a small village but everything you might need is there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsbob_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

From the moment we arrived, we were staggered by the warmth of the hospitality at The Old Manse. Stuart was an incredible host and made us feel like honorary members of the family. I had made a late booking and the B&B was busy, so we were allocated one of the smaller rooms (without the fabulous views over the loch). Having read some of the other reviews on this site I would agree that there was very limited hanging space in that room, but it was perfectly adequate for our needs. And yes, the TV was on the small size, but why on earth would you want to stay in your room and watch television in such a beautiful location ?? The room was very clean, properly furnished and well maintained. The breakfast was excellent too. I would wholeheartedly and unreservedly recommend this guest house - I look forward to going back there myself in the not-too-distant future.

Room Tip: If available, go for one of the rooms with the view over the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Very comfortable and they went out of their way to meet our needs. We had cycled from Kyle of Lochalsh they stored our bikes, dried our washing and helped us plan our onward journey. Breakfast excellent. Beautiful house, great views. Other end of the village to the pub,but no problem. The B&B would cook evening meal, given notice. If ever in the area, would stay here without looking at other options.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A-line6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We've just got back from a 5 night stay at the Old Manse and can thoroughly recommend it. Nice big room with a view of the lake, excellent food (both breakfast and evening meals) and incredibly welcoming owners.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakedistrict1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochcarron
9.4 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
585 reviews
21.5 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
153 reviews
16.6 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
19.5 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
197 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hartfield House Applecross
Hartfield House Applecross
#1 of 2 in Applecross
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Manse Lochcarron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Manse Lochcarron

Property: The Old Manse Lochcarron
Address: Lochcarron IV54 8YP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Lochcarron
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lochcarron
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Old Manse Lochcarron Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing