We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and fantastic restaurant!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochcarron
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rockvilla Guest House
Ranked #1 of 12 Lochcarron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Our journey to Scotland would haven't be the same without our stop in this strategic location to visit both south and north west of Scotland, Skye Island included.

Wendy hospitality is great, rooms large, clean and nice, parking are big and comfortable but the thing you really don't expect in a very good level B&B is the quality of their restaurant, really fresh food, creative, always served in a nice way from this friendly family. More than a B&B is a place you could stay several days, visiting from there the best part of the Highlands and deciding when tired to eat there or also disfruit some nice place close to them.

A very nice experience!

Massimo, Elena&Matteo

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Massimo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 208 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

From start to finish we couldn't fault the stay. Upon arrival the hostess was very friendly and that never changed throughout. She offered to help with suitcases and even gave us fresh milk in the room!

The room was a good size with a TV - it really was like staying in a hotel with all the little extras in the room.

Definitely recommending to friends and family.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Wendy, Peter and son Ben are your hosts and if you ever come across a more welcoming team then let me know, they are absolutely brilliant.
The room was spotlessly clean with extremely comfy beds, could not have expected more.
We had dinner all three nights we stayed and have to say each and every meal was superb. As for breakfast which was not only as good a breakfast you will get anyplace and I mean anyplace but there was more than enough to keep us fuelled for the whole day.
All in all I cannot rate Wendy Peter and Ben highly enough as hosts and Rockvilla as the place to stay. Can without doubt give the highest possible recommendation without fear of contradiction.

Room Tip: We had the room at the rear with en suite, perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jim186565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Wonderful small family-run inn with 4 rooms, all with private bath. Rooms overlook the loch. Great Value! Our cost was 72 pounds for a night.
Friendly owners Wendy and her son Peter personify Scottish hospitality.

Spotlessly clean!

Parking in front of the inn is easy, which is uncommmon at most small B&B.
It is easy to find on the long main road through town overlooking the water.
(Our room, #2, overlooked the water and had the private bath across the hall, which was no problem).
Rooms are on 2nd floor, but the stairs were easy and bag assistance was offered.
Large, thick towels! There was plenty of room for several large bags, which is nice when reorganizing.

The very-good restaurant for dinner and for the included full-Scottish breakfast, all cooked by Wendy!
The salad included fresh greens grown by a neighbor behind the inn. My pasta dish had a mix of fresh caught and locally smoked seafood while my wife enjoyed a delicious typical Cullen skink (soup with smoked haddock & potatoes).
Note: Some road noise but the road isn't very busy.

Room Tip: Ask for private bath with a view. Do consider having a dinner at this inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Couldn't rate this B+B highly enough. The owners bent over backwards to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The room was great, views superb, and food excellent. Wouldn't hesitate to go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

A friend and I arrived on bikes in a heavy rainstorm, soaked to the skin. Our reception could not have been better, our bikes were stored in the Wendy and Peter's lounge, our wet clothes were washed and dried for us and a lovely, large, clean room with superb views over the loch and on-suite was waiting for us.
The restaurant served excellent evening meals and a very good breakfast.
Our stay there for 3 nights was marvellous and I really cannot praise this warm and friendly guest house highly enough.

Room Tip: The loch views are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

A group of 4 of us have just returned from spending 3 nights at the Rockvilla Guest House. The rooms were spacious, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Our room had a fantastic view over Loch Carron. Excellent choice for breakfast and the meals in the restaurant at night were absolutely delicious with a fantastic menu to choose from. Especially liked that so much was locally sourced. Our hosts were very friendly and we were made to feel really welcome. We would totally recommend this B&B and will hopefully return to this wonderful area very soon.
Ian and Rhona McLeod

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a fantastic view across Loch Carron
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank munro1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rockvilla Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockvilla Guest House

Address: Main Street, Lochcarron IV54 8YB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Lochcarron
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lochcarron
Price Range: $49 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cosy, family run Guest House, Self Catering and small Licensed Restaurant situated in the heart of the village of Lochcarron. Close to local amenities, our Guest House is the perfect base for all types of tourists wishing to experience the beauty of the Scottish Highlands and indeed to sample what it can offer, whether you are a mountaineer, motorcyclist or just looking to relax. Residents License and dining options, bookings only. On the NC 500 route. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rockvilla Guest House Lochcarron, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing