We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Rockvilla Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Lochcarron
Price range: $15 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: Quality,quiet,friendly atmosphere,high quality dining with local used where ever possible. All front facing rooms have a loch view,plenty of private parking.Registered with the scottish tourist boardand awarded 4 star status in August 2011. Available for weekly lets , with or without catering. Ideal for groups of friends and families wishing to share quality accommodation with a few hidden extras.
Genova
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

The food is absolute fresh and perfectly cooked!the Thai rise is a really Thai spicy plate and it was super!staff (mum and son) is simply fantastic!we stayed in the b&b for the night and it was simply lovely!o would suggest rockvilla to everyone who is visiting Scotland!

Helpful?
Thank Martapollon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    12
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
417 reviews
339 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Maybe it's just me but I found it hard to love the Rockvilla”
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

The Rockvilla is a nice enough place. The staff - a mother & son team - are friendly & welcoming and the atmosphere convivial. But the food, alas, is pretty average. The Cuillin Skink - a traditional creamy soup with smoked haddock & potatoes - to start was pretty good but after that it was a bit of a let down. The seafood in my seafood linguine turned out to consist pretty much exclusively of salmon. My wife's veggie lasagne was ok but really needed a bit more cheese sauce to make it suitably sloppy & delicious. If I'd made either at home I would have been disappointed with the results (though I am a pretty good chef if I say so myself). Portions are large so in the land of the hungry diner they may be king but for me it's a hard place to love. Maybe it's the tartan carpet. Maybe it's that I wish it was the pub that it once was. Or maybe it's because the Lochcarron Bistro a few doors down the road is just so much better. I doubt that we would pay a return visit next time we are in town.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank eddymaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Spezia, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very, very good!”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Delicious food, especially the Cullen Skink and the warm mackarel salad. The food is very fresh, colorful and good-smelling, always presented with great care: pleasing to the eye, the nose and the mouth! Desserts are also great. The service is excellent, warm and friendly atmosphere, beautiful location. Very clean and tidy, cozy and relaxing. Made me love Scottish cooking!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank claudia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Food was excellent, home made merangues were just right.
Cullen Skink was very tasty, smoked local mackeral was excellent

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent food.”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

All the food was prepared to a very high standard. The service was excellent and all at affordable prices. All food was freshly prepared and sourced locally. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockvilla Restaurant also viewed

Lochcarron, Ross and Cromarty
Lochcarron, Ross and Cromarty
 
Lochcarron, Ross and Cromarty
Strathcarron, Scottish Highlands
 
Strathcarron, Scottish Highlands
Strathcarron, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Rockvilla Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing