We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Land Rover on business” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rockvilla Restaurant

Rockvilla Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Lochcarron
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $43
Cuisines: British, Scottish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Quality,quiet,friendly atmosphere,high quality dining with local used where ever possible. All front facing rooms have a loch view,plenty of private parking.Registered with the scottish tourist boardand awarded 4 star status in August 2011. Available for weekly lets , with or without catering. Ideal for groups of friends and families wishing to share quality accommodation with a few hidden extras.
Dunkeld
2 reviews
“Land Rover on business”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

Travelled to Lochcarron for a work related trip and was very happy to be staying in the Rockvilla. My room was spotlessly clean, well decorated and very comfortable with a lovely en-suite facility, beautiful handmade soaps and warm comfortable beds. Peter and Wendy are fantastic hosts and as I was travelling as a lone female I found their company welcoming and very homely. I loved meeting Holly the Labrador! They had motorcycle newspapers too!! The food is superb, good sized portions and full hearty breakfasts...well done to you both and thank you very much for looking after me!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zxrgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    11
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"The little Gem on the Loch"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Passing through lochcarron,tired and wet we decided firstly to look for accomodation,
even though it was late,we were treated very warmly,we then proceeded to book a room,which was extreamly clean and with all facilities,with a fantastic view of the loch.
After looking at the comments in the guest book we decided to dine,and i must say were extreamly suprised at the quality,all home made,fresh, very tasty indeed.This really made a difference too our holiday and we ended up staying an extra night too.even the breakfast was fantastic,so much choice.
We will return.thank you

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank diggerjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good cuisine and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

We had originally booked a table for 11 for dinner, planning to visit other establishments in the area on the other two nights of our stay.

However the food and the service were both so good that we rebooked here rather than risking disappointment elsewhere.

The service was good friendly and timely - no long boring waits between courses. The choice on the menu varied between the fresh seafood for which the area is famous, such things as king scallops, crab, langoustine, sea bass etc. and beautifully prepared roasts and stews of venison, lamb, and chicken. The vegetables were fresh and al dente which is how we like them. The range of wines while not vast was good and fully complemented the excellent meal. Lastly the sweets were unfortunately far too tempting to pass on and a good range of malts was available to round off the evening.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jazzandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a friendly restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

A lovely restaurant with views out over the Loch. The friendly, cosy atmosphere is enhanced by the staff who are happy to chat and advise on the varied menu.

Quality and quantity of food is excellent with a choice of dishes which are more varied and interesting than the typical restaurant fare.

Happily we were not rushed through and were able to enjoy a leisurely dram, coffee and chat to finish. The homely atmosphere made for a relaxed and comfortable experience .

If you have eaten at 'The Rock' before - the puddings remain awesome. If not, eat there soon.

There is a collection service available for those wishing to stay in their holiday home, tent etc.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockvilla Restaurant also viewed

Lochcarron, Ross and Cromarty
Lochcarron, Ross and Cromarty
 
Lochcarron, Ross and Cromarty
Lochcarron, Ross and Cromarty
 
Strathcarron, Scottish Highlands
Strathcarron, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Rockvilla Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing