We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rare Perfection”
Review of The Sithean

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochcarron
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sithean
Ranked #2 of 12 Lochcarron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Rare Perfection”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

I was completely satisfied with everything during my one night (all too short) stay. The propietor Lorna is friendly, generous and professional. The property is modern, tasteful and spotlessly clean. In addition to your room, which has everything you could want, there is a charming lounge with a picture-postcard view set aside for residents' sole use. The perfect B & B experience - well done indeed!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dovidola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
102
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lybster Caithness
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We recently spent four nights at this 5 star plus B@B.The situation and the accomodation was just superb.Lovely bedroom overlooking the Loch complete with a superb en suite.We were met by Lorna and were soon having tea and cake.The food is beautifly cooked and is served in the dining room with Loch views.
Derek and Dorothy
Caithness

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We are so glad we chose The Sithean for our three-night stay in Lochcarron (6,7,8 May 2013). It had everything we could have wished for: a comfortable, well-equipped room; a lovely guest lounge with stunning views; lots of choice and excellent food for breakfast; and ideal hosts in Ken and Lorna, who made us feel at home from the moment we arrived.

Many, many thanks.

John and Kath
Preston, Lancashire

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

A lovely place to stay. We stayed two nights but wished we had stayed longer. The clean and well appointed en suite room was complimented by fantastic views over the loch. We were greeted with tea and cake on both nights and Lorna was the perfect host. A guests lounge and breakfast room also with views to the loch make this an ideal place to relax. Ten out of ten for the Sithean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davecarter473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here with my wife for a couple of nights recently. We booked it on the strength of the reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. The lady who owns it welcomed my wife with afternoon tea and lovely cake. The rooms were spotlessly clean and we had an amazing view over the loch which was beautiful; as did the lovely breakfast room. The quality of the breakfast was very high and I would definitely recommend this place. It is located in the southern suburbs of the town so is a bit of a walk into the main town which didn't bother us being walkers but less sprightly people would probably have to rely on a car.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmc12York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at the Sithean mid February for 2 nights.

When we arrived we received a warm welcome with a much appreciated cup of tea with cake and biscuits.

The en-suite bedroom was spotless and tastefully decorated, towels and bedding were pristine, The room was complete with tea/coffee making facilities. hairdryer, tv etc. The bed was extremely comfortable and we had a good nights sleep.

The B&B guests even have their own lounge, with stunning views overlooking Loch Carron.

Breakfast was delicious, served in a beautifully appointed room, again with stunning views over the Loch.

On our second day after a lovely walk along the river, upon our return to the Sithean, Lorna again provided us with a welcome cup of tea and gorgeous lemon cake, plus biscuits.

This is without a doubt the best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed at.

Thankyou very much for a truly enjoyable stay Lorna and Ken.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_and_Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnside, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We booked one night at this lovely B&B and enjoyed it so much we booked the last two nights of our holiday too!! Ken & Lorna are perfect hosts, attentive without being intrusive, the rooms are beautiful and spotlessly clean and the breakfast was superb. We will definitley stay at The Sithean again.
Karen & Tom

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochcarron
7.9 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
574 reviews
20.3 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
150 reviews
14.3 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
183 reviews
22.5 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
281 reviews
12.5 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sithean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sithean

Property: The Sithean
Address: West Lochcarron, Lochcarron IV54 8YH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Lochcarron
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lochcarron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run quality Bed and Breakfast accommodation with fully equipped en-suite guest bedrooms, rooms and guest lounge/TV lounge overlooking panoramic mountain and sea views in the heart of the West Highlands of Scotland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sithean Lochcarron, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing