We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Without question the best B@B we have experienced.”
Review of The Sithean

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochcarron
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sithean
Ranked #2 of 12 Lochcarron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We must apologise Lorna and Ken for being somewhat tardy with our review but it would appear that it can be easier to find something negative to say about a B@B than in the case of the Sithean which we have re-classified to five star plus. We agree totally with previous comments the only downside to our visit being a one night stay. Hope to see you both again soon. Brian and Margaret, Bishopbriggs, Glasgow. Stayed 17th August,2012.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for The Sithean
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 134 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed over for one night on 5 September 12 and it was just exactly what we wanted. Beautiful views, quiet, the cottage was built to a high spec which was also immaculate. Shower was amazing too!!! Breakfast superb (especially the scottish black pudding), lots to eat to get you started on your journey. The drive is steep to the cottage but not a long drive. Once you are up there its lovely! Very warm welcome once you arrive also. This B&B is suited whether you are travelling on your own or with your partner on business or pleasure. Its just perfect if you are looking for a bit of peace and quiet! Thank you so much for such a pleasant stay!!! Clare and Jason.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

A superb B@B overlooking Loch Carron.The room was spot on for comfort and the breakfast was
superb with loads to eat.Easy to get to but watch the steep drive up to the house.The room was nice and comfortable with nice views over Loch Carron.

Room Tip: Use tripadvisor as I did and you will get the best.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geordieholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This B&B is located in a high position witha very nice view of Locharron.
the rooms are very big, confortable and clean. The hosts are very friendly and hospital with all the guest of the B&B. The breakfast is fantastic and it is served in a dining oom with a fantastic view of the sea.
it was certainly the best b& b with have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiovannaDiMicco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

In a more elevated location than most buildings in the village, this really is a superb B&B. As others have written, the attention to detail is meticulous, the decor is great and there are lots and lots of very nice touches.

It represents excellent value - can't think why you would want to stay anywhere else in or around Lochcarron.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This b&b is located just on the edge of Lochcarron, Ross-shire and has a prime location overlooking the loch, with steep hills in the distance, but with access to a shop and eating places very close by. It also sits at the start of the world famous Westeross Coastal Trail, from Lochcarron to Applecross - some of the most breathtaking scenery we've ever seen. The b&b is modern but welcoming, the breakfast consists of good quality items and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was spacious and comfortable with views over the loch (be sure to ask for this room for the views rather than the one at the back) and the ensuite is modern and well-kitted. There is a small cosy residents' lounge which also shares the spectacular loch view, almost a home from home. Towels and toiletries were changed daily, and there was complementary mineral water as well as coffee, tea and drinking chocolate. Lorna dealt with us throughout, but we met her husband Ken as we were leaving, and we cannot thank them enough for making us so welcome. We would definitely go back if we were in the area again.

Room Tip: Ask for the room overlooking the loch for the best views
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wenrob_garroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had the pleasure of stopping here for 2 nights back in early June. With our 12 year old daughter, there were three of us so we took over both rooms. One had a superb view of the loch, whilst the other had lovely hillside views. The house is superb, I think that's clear now 5* cleanliness and attention to details etc. But it's the warmth and hospitality that made it so special for us. Ken and Lorna were the perfect hosts. Always tea, cake and biscuits to welcome us back from our walks. And they always were happy to talk, whilst striking that perfect balance to give us privacy too. There is no argument; this is the best B&B we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: The Bistro in the village is a top tip. Lovely seafood pasta!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meandherhgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochcarron
10.0 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
601 reviews
17.3 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
290 reviews
20.9 mi away
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achnasheen
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
205 reviews
9.3 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
389 reviews
21.9 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sithean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sithean

Address: West Lochcarron, Lochcarron IV54 8YH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Lochcarron
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lochcarron
Price Range: $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run quality Bed and Breakfast accommodation with fully equipped en-suite guest bedrooms, rooms and guest lounge/TV lounge overlooking panoramic mountain and sea views in the heart of the West Highlands of Scotland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sithean Lochcarron, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing