We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best B&B in 3 weeks travel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Loch Dubh

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochcarron
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loch Dubh
Ranked #3 of 12 Lochcarron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The Best B&B in 3 weeks travel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

This venue was great, we booked in advance and had to change dates a few time which did not appear to be an issue, they also found more accommodation close by for our friends. Beautiful modern home with little ones about, a working property as well as work outside of the B€B. Rooms beautifully accommodated and personal needs catered for. Stunning views and an easy walk to the pub and local restaurants. Professionally run and excellent attention.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMO58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
52
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

An amazing place, great welcome from Emma and Andrew, the best in b&b...it does not get any better. Location and views are stunning. Over looking Loch Carron and the mountains and very easy to find. Will definatly return

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyrover51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed here last week and have to say its a fantastic BB in a fantastic location..

The house certainly has the wow factor and I mean wow..

The breakfast was to die for and set us up nicely for a days cycling

We were there for a cycle over to applecross then through Torridon,Kinlochewe and back to Lochcarron ..

Lochcarron is a cracking spot and I recommend a few pints of real ale and a seafood stew in the local hotel..


I rate this BB 6/5

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upthedons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

just back from a two night stay in Lochcarron. The B&B photos made the place look amazing and when we arrived we were not disappointed. They only have two rooms to let and one is dog friendly. We decided to take the dog with us so we could take full advantage of the beautiful scenery and walks that surround the area. The B&B let us come and go as we pleased as long as the dog was kept on the lead as the sheep in the adjoining field were close to lambing.

The breakfast was superb and the choice was first class. Emma and Andrew were really hospitable and friendly and their hospitality made for a great break.

The weather was amazing for this time of year which helped!

The point I would like to make is if this is only ranked No 3 I would like to see the other two.

We would definitely return,hopefully in the near future - we couldnt fault it.

ps - please note that the Lochcarron Hotel is also dog friendly so you can take the dog with you when you want to eat in the evenings.

Hugh and Suz - Dunfermline - Fife

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fizzbomb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester-le-Street
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Emma & Andrew were most welcoming and friendly. House is in a great location being near the end of Croft Road in Loch Carron it gets a great view of the Loch. The picture windows allow you to enjoy a great breakfast range whilst watching the sun rise. Our room was spotlessly clean with loads of hot water and a very powerful shower. Oh, I forgot to mention and they also grow their own pork and eggs for the cooked breakfast, a real treat. A fantastic base from which to explore the Applecross peninsula and the surrounding area.

Room Tip: They only have two rooms and our double was warm, spaceous and comfortable with views over the field...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen_and_Pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, North Carolina
Level Contributor
151 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I've been to the UK a couple of times, and to Scotland once, so take this with a grain of salt - but Andrew and Emma's place as absolutely amazing! It was very modern, complete with updated bathrooms, satellite TV, free wifi, the works. The view was fantastic from their house, and (as I understand it - we didn't utilize the service), fishing is available right in the back yard for those who wish. Breakfast was fantastic too, with a good selection to choose from. As the title says, this is the best place I have personally stayed at within the United Kingdom and I would not hesitate to go back.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bfarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed there for a hill walking weekend and were made very welcome. The view was spectacular overlooking Loch Carron. We went to Lake Como earlier this year and it was on a par! Guests can make use of the contemporary open plan living room and dining area. Emma was very welcoming. The rooms were spacious, nicely decorated and clean. We walked down to the Rockvilla for dinner, which was really nice. Breakfast was plentiful and cooked to perfection. We loved the family atmosphere and the free range chickens made breakfast extra special! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sc0ttyD0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochcarron
8.9 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
21.1 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
10.8 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
15.9 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
21.0 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Dubh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Dubh

Property: Loch Dubh
Address: Loch Dubh Croft Road, Lochcarron IV54 8YA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Lochcarron
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lochcarron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loch Dubh is a newly built spacious croft house set in 8 acres of working croft land. It stands in an elevated south facing position on open hillside above the village of Lochcarron and has stunning views over Loch Carron, looking towards the mountains to the south. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loch Dubh Lochcarron, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing