We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland food.”
Review of Lochcarron Bistro

Lochcarron Bistro
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Lochcarron
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $64
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bland food.”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Service was excellent, food poor for standard expected.
Both meals were the same, Sirloin steak was bland, chips were soggy with oil as were the battered onion rings, plate was warm around the edges cold in the middle.
Very dissapointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    46
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food, worth a visit”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Restaurants in more remote, but popular, locations are often a bit lazy with menus and service, given their captive audience. This bistro makes a good effort with both - well worth it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank winerwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This certainly lives up to the bistro name; chalkboard menu, wood floor and scrubbed wood tables. The service is friendly and informal ... and then you get to the food. A chowder starter was a brimming bowl of creamy, tasty chowder chock-full of large chunks of fresh fish. Delicious! Too delicious, in fact!! Having eaten that, all I could do was nibble at the salmon fish and chips that followed. I reckon I've got a big appetite, but two thirds of it went back untouched. Great food, but next time it is a starter and a dessert for me.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IgnorantBystander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Having not eaten since breakfast we were very hungry! We'd past the bistro on our way to our holiday cottage so as soon as we unpacked we headed back there for dinner. we wanted our first night to be one of good food and were not disappointed! We were fortunate to have the only unreserved table - 2 couples were turned away after us. The staff were friendly and the service very good and most importantly the food was wonderful! We shared a whitebait, I had the venison which was delicious and really didn't need the sauce it came with, hubby had the chicken (being a fan of talisker whiskey) with a talisker and black pudding sauce. Both sauces were served separately so you could help yourself and the accompanying vegetables were fresh and well cooked. 2 soft drinks and 2 glasses of wine. £50 so reasonable value and well worth another visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CE0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Excellent food - generous lamb portion and venison stake melting in your mouth like pate! The staff was very helpful and friendly. Only slight put off was the lack of olive oil when we asked for our salad; I guess that's easy to correct!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank promitheus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lochcarron Bistro also viewed

Lochcarron, Ross and Cromarty
Strathcarron, Scottish Highlands
 
Strathcarron, Scottish Highlands
Lochcarron, Ross and Cromarty
 
Lochcarron, Ross and Cromarty
Strathcarron, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Lochcarron Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing