We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Swannay Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Birsay, Orkney Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hannah D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed August 8, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic holiday at Swannay Cottage. Lovely quiet location and extremely clean and well equipped cottage. Really cosy and warm too. Friendly and helpful owner nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2017
Glad you enjoyed your holiday. Hope to see back in Orkney sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 29, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2017
Great you had a good time when you were in Orkney. The weather was very good to you. I hope that would consider Swannay Cottage again if you should return to Orkney.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Holly H
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed May 10, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

What a wonderful place to stay. The cottage has plenty of space for 5 adults and 4 dogs.

This place has everything you could need. On arrival the basics were there including tea, coffee and milk along with a lovely basket of extras with local produce to try.
The garden is lovely and once the gate at the front is closed its completely enclosed which is perfect for 4 dogs to run and play.

All of the fixtures, fittings and kitchen ware etc are of an excellently high standard. The extra little touches like the Orkney soap products in the bathroom were a lovely touch and we really haven't wanted for anything.

The wi-fi was a bit temperamental but that was kind of nice!!

The owner Karen greeted us on the first day and was very friendly and welcoming.
I would definitely recommend this cottage and will stay again if we come back to Orkney.


Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 28, 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay. We would love to see you all again.
Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 12, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to have you again.
Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
janice800
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Swanage cottage a home away from home”
Reviewed August 6, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a beautiful cottage with everything you need at hand and very comfortable. The basket of Orkney goodies provided by Karen was a lovely surprise and we thoroughly enjoyed them. It was our first time in Orkney and we explored the island from beautiful beaches and loved all the historic places we visited We bought the Orkney Explorer pass which saves you money if going to a lot of historic Scotland sites around the island. Karen made us feel really welcome and she was on hand if we needed anything. I would highly recommend this cottage and we will be back to explore the island further.
.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved it all cannot fault it
Liked least: Nothing was all great
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2016
So glad you enjoyed your trip to Orkney. We would welcome you back any time. Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmkeithlu...
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The cottage had everything - very well appointed”
Reviewed June 20, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Whenever we needed some piece of equipment, we only had to look, and it was there. When there was a slight problem with the gas, the owner, Karen Morgan, was over straight away and it was sorted in seconds. The location was perfect for the commemorations at Marwick Head and Birsay Community Centre, which were the reasons for our visit. Altogether an excellent stay.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2016
Thank you, glad you enjoyed your stay.
Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela P
Berkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible stay”
Reviewed June 8, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed one week, May - June and found the cottage to be really home from home with all provided except food - although there was a lovely starter welcome pack which meant we needn't have bought milk & bread, etc. Karen was really friendly and welcoming, to the point that we felt we knew her already and was very accessible and accommodating, living across the road. The heating was set to come on twice a day with option to turn on if we felt chilli. The cottage was lovely and quiet in stunning scenery, with the lake along the road. and others nearby. There is also a bus service passing the door, although a car is probably a good idea. We'd certainly consider returning and recommending. Below, I have ticked for 'people with disabilities' as there is a front and back door which would take a wheelchair, and it is a cottage on one level - the twin bedroom is next to the bathroom. There is also a sink in the utility room, with washing machine and kitchen has a dishwasher.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Extremely comfortable, even the sofas.
Liked least: Slightly remote but not a real problem with a car.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2016
Thank you Pamela, so glad you enjoyed your stay in Orkney and with me at Swannay cottage. I hope to see you again. Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing