We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Drovers Inn

The Drovers Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Inverarnan
Price range: $12 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: There’s always a reason to visit The Drovers Inn, a unique Loch Lomond Hotel, whether it’s your celebration or ours. Travelling north or south it’s the perfect stop at the north end of Loch Lomond providing a true and lasting memory of rural Scotland. We have live music every weekend, a great food menu served daily, not to mention an excellent atmosphere and centuries of history. Accommodation can either be at the inn itself or at the newer lodge rooms just across the road. We are a dog friendly, both in the bar and our hotel rooms.
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Classy!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Fab place to stop for lunch or dinner. Food lovely. Stayed overnight and had a lovely clean comfortable room which was haunted!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marjenhug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    163
    55
    47
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
205 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“For Pub Grub, Average at best...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Like so many others, we have driven past The Drovers Inn on so many occasions, and decided to stop in to see if the reputation fits the bill. Sadly, the overall experience was average at best. Upon arrival, nobody to meet or direct you to a table in the myriad of different rooms and then had to chase down our own menus. Service was sketchy and inconsistent. Food was hit and miss - tarted well with good size and quality starters, only to be followed by some below par versions of a beef burger and spicy vegie burger, without the spice! It shouldn't be too tough to do a good beef burger, but for a rustic venue, I'd suggest ditching the McDonald's type fast food buns and replace them with some local fresh baked rolls.

Overall, disappointed that we actually stopped in and would find it hard to recommend to any friends or fellow travellers, and next time, we'll keep on driving past.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AUSLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It's The Drovers Inn!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

It's The Drovers Inn, therefore shabbiness, dust, taxidermy and quirkiness are to be expected as part of the experience: the food is good and it is a very popular stopping off place; definitely one to be tried at least once.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Character?? It's a dump!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

First time at the Drovers Inn - have driven past it many times over the years.

Went for a meal - food was fine as was the service.

However the Inn itself was so shabby. I think it's trying to make out it has a bit of character! Clearly they don't spend the profits on the upkeep of the toliets - the ladies toilets were shabby with cracked toilet bowls and bits missing off the walls - goodness knows what overseas tourists must think!

In one of the dining rooms where we ate in the ceiling was full of water marks.

All in all - OK for food but in reality it's a bit of a dump!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank elmac40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

the drovers is set on a road at the top of loch Lomond. It is a very rustic inn with a small bar and working fire. It also has other small rooms in which you can have drinks. The food and service was excellent. I would recommend the steak and Guinness pie its amazing

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Drovers Inn also viewed

Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Inverarnan, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Drovers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing