We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's The Drovers Inn!”
Review of The Drovers Inn

The Drovers Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Inverarnan
Price range: $11 - $19
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: There’s always a reason to visit The Drovers Inn, a unique Loch Lomond Hotel, whether it’s your celebration or ours. Travelling north or south it’s the perfect stop at the north end of Loch Lomond providing a true and lasting memory of rural Scotland. We have live music every weekend, a great food menu served daily, not to mention an excellent atmosphere and centuries of history. Accommodation can either be at the inn itself or at the newer lodge rooms just across the road. We are a dog friendly, both in the bar and our hotel rooms.
Port Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It's The Drovers Inn!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

It's The Drovers Inn, therefore shabbiness, dust, taxidermy and quirkiness are to be expected as part of the experience: the food is good and it is a very popular stopping off place; definitely one to be tried at least once.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    168
    59
    49
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Character?? It's a dump!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

First time at the Drovers Inn - have driven past it many times over the years.

Went for a meal - food was fine as was the service.

However the Inn itself was so shabby. I think it's trying to make out it has a bit of character! Clearly they don't spend the profits on the upkeep of the toliets - the ladies toilets were shabby with cracked toilet bowls and bits missing off the walls - goodness knows what overseas tourists must think!

In one of the dining rooms where we ate in the ceiling was full of water marks.

All in all - OK for food but in reality it's a bit of a dump!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank elmac40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

the drovers is set on a road at the top of loch Lomond. It is a very rustic inn with a small bar and working fire. It also has other small rooms in which you can have drinks. The food and service was excellent. I would recommend the steak and Guinness pie its amazing

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrowford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A must visit if your in the area!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

The service was good, the food was what you'd expect in a pub. But what an atmosphere! Candlelit tables, roaring fires and walls adorned claymores, tartans, old portraits and other Celtic memorabilia. This pub was opened in 1706 and I don't think it's changed a bit since! Also an intreguing collection of stuffed animals to look at, including a bear and a shark!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alanwickerjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston
Level Contributor
99 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Needs some work”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I used to visit this place when I was a student and doing a lot of climbing. Maybe I have become somewhat more discerning, but when I visited for the first time in ages this weekend I was disappointed.
The decor and style is oly world, which is fine as far as it goes, but I do think it feels a bit tired now - not just in a 'style' way. The toilets were (according to my wife) pretty horrible.
The food was pretty poor. Their "rustic door stop sandwiches" were clearly made with Kingsmill, rather than anything rustic or doorstopping. Their marie rose sauce was watery.
Given it used to be a real favourite of mine, it was sad to be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank craigozwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Drovers Inn also viewed

Tyndrum, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Ardlui, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Arrochar, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Crianlarich, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Drovers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing