We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Corner House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Annan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Had a fantastic time here, stayed in the family suite which suited our family ideally! Service was fabulous, breakfast was awesome, great value, and perfect position to watch the Riding of the Marches!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for The Corner House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 95 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here whilst doing some family searching amongst the graveyards in Annan and in the surrounding areas. The beds were very comfortable, bathroom with shower were great.. There'sb free wi-fi which goes at a good speed.
only thing is that it's above a nightclub and a bit of traffic noise. At least its not busy Glasgow!!
the best thing was the breakfast.
We had the full breakfast. it was individually cooked to order for us an was really excellent
it really was a treat.
Parking was round the back but we were very lucky to get parked !

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elspeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is a great place to stay if visiting the south west of scotland. It is centrally located with ample parking.It is a small family run hotel offering good value for money accommodation with a warm and friendly welcome.
On my stay they went beyond my expectations.
While at a family function I unfortunately lost a diamond from a much valued ring.
I was unable to find it on the day but when leaving the next day I advised "Ollie" the joint owner , that I had lost it.
He said that he would look for it when cleaning the function area. To me this was like looking for a needle in a haystack!
To my surprise and delight Ollie came up trumps and I am re united with the said diamond- How is that for "going the extra mile" in customer service!?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irene s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Gary and Laura are a lovely couple that have revamped the Cornerhouse into a comfy and adorable B&B right by the port in center of town. The rooms are clean and comfortable with brick walls that are accented with local wood furniture that gives it appeal. The rooms can be a bit noisy with foot traffic, horse carts, bird chatter, and motorbikes but the food more then makes up for that. They use Fresh and local produce that make up an incredible breakfast and lunch menu plus they will pack lunches to go if you like. I could not get enough of the cappuccino and eggs Benny. I would highly recommend this Hotel as a get center point to stay since every activity you would want to do can be accessed from there and you feel safe and comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed here numerous times and enjoy the hospitality received which makes me come back. The hotel is in a central location and rooms are spacious with en-suite. Bar is great and food is good. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kingkeiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

we stayed at the corner house hotel on the 20th of july, attending a wedding at the venue. The reception room was amazing, certainly large enough to take 200 plus guests comfortably. The meal we had was the summer salad buffet option with as much as you could eat, consisting of ham, turkey, beef, two quiche options, every salad item you can name, piping crispy roast potatoes, the children had the hot steak pie or chicken option. We followed this with a choice of four sweets, i had the lime and ginger cheesecake with fresh raspberries and coulis. In the evening the finger buffet looked amazing, very well stocked and presented, but im afraid i was too full to participate, lol! The family room was a small suite, with two seperate bedrooms and shower room in the middle, very clean and comfortable indeed. After our great day and evening we were well ready for the breakfast in the morning, and you can pretty much have anything you want, porridge, cereals,juices, tea, coffee,toast etc, then kippers, or a full scottish, or even omelette choices too. Cooked breakfasts came quickly, and were gorgeous, only thing i can mention was we would have liked a yoghurt option for the children. Overall, fantastic stay, excellent food and good rooms, i can recommend a stay here if you are in annan or surrounding area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank borders family b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Arrived around 8.30pm on Friday 6th July 2012 and after a little confusion over check in we were given our room keys. We had 5 rooms booked and would have liked all the rooms to have been together but we were given rooms in three separate parts of the hotel which wasn't a major problem as they don't have loads of rooms anyway. We had a mixture of rooms (one double and the rest twins - one occupied by one person) and I have to say the beds were the best I've ever found on our stays anywhere.....so comfy. Bed linen very clean and bright. The rooms we had all had tea and coffee facilities (with biscuits!) and a hairdryer. We had trouble trying to regulate the shower on the Saturday morning but when we got in to our room at lunchtime it was being cleaned and the manager had no problem setting the shower for us...and subsequent showers were perfect!. Breakfast consisted of a self service table of small cereal boxes, orange/apple juice. You were then given a menu for the main choices. Didn't actually see what the choices were as I was only interested in the Scottish breakfast which consisted of Lorne Sausage, Bacon, Haggis, Tomato, Fried Egg and Tattie Scone.....and on both mornings was delicious. Couple of our party had poached eggs on toast and that too looked delicious. Toast was provided with a selection of jam/marmalade and tea/coffee. Food was served promptly and extra toast/tea/coffee was available if you required it. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful and I can honestly say we had a great time. The one thing I would say is if you don't like noise try for a room on the second floor as you do get some noise from the bar underneath the rooms on floor one......not enough to warrant a complaint though. If we needed rooms in Annan again, we wouldn't hesitate to come back here.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms on floor one are above "The Shed" which is a little noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aa66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Annan
0.1 mi away
Queensberry Arms Hotel
4.9 mi away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lockerbie
147 reviews
17.1 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,067 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
154 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House Hotel

Address: 78 High Street, Annan DG12 6DL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Annan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Annan
Price Range: $57 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Corner House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Corner House Hotel is a well established, family-run hotel based in the centre of the small Scottish town of Annan, Our location is ideal for visitors to Galloway, the Central Belt (Glasgow and Edinburgh), Gretna Green and beautiful Solway Coast. We are a popular destination for a number of outdoor activities such as cycling, fishing and golfing. With 18 En-suite bedrooms all with TV, tea and coffee facilities that provide a warm welcome for visitors to the town and surrounding area. Our Cafe, Lounge Bar, which is open to non-residents, can offer you a light lunch menu. Which includes a choice of homemade soups and fresh ground coffee. There is free WiFi access throughout the hotel, we also have our private on-site car park with 24 hours CCTV system. The Corner House has spacious ground floor function rooms which are idea for conferences, weddings, birthday parties and many other functions. They are suitable to hold between 10 and 300 people and can offer catering all functions. Our experienced and professional staff can assist with all aspects of function planning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Corner House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Corner House Hotel Annan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing