We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish & Chips”
Review of The Cafe Royal

The Cafe Royal
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Annan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Occupying the building on the site where Robert Burns wrote the 'diels awa' wi the exciseman', The Cafe Royal Annan was opened in 1967. We provide high quality food, from a Full Scottish Breakfast to Fish and Chips, Baked Potatoes, Salad and Filled Rolls. Open 7 days a week from 7am to 8pm. We have an outdoor eating area as well as a smoking shelter for our smoking customers.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The fish & Chips are just mouth watering! all I can say is go and taste them, you certainly won't get any better any place not for miles, and the menu is excellent! plenty of choice. I would higly
recommend them and atmosphere is always cheery give it a try.
Ps (a very happy customer)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaganiFamily, Manager at The Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review, I will pass your comments to all our staff, it really does make a huge difference to them to know that our customers appreciate our efforts. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Best regards, John Pagani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
There are newer reviews for The Cafe Royal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 285 of 299 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Haven't been here for years but tried it again on a family visit - it is still one of the best places I know for fish and chips (and much more). Food is freshly made which sometimes takes a bit of time but on the whole service is fast and friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bizzy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Really flavoursome fish and chips - good value and plenty, lovely homemade tartare sauce too. Clean, friendly and pleasant. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carlajane1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaganiFamily, Owner at The Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thanks for your kind review, our signature tartar sauce is made fresh from a secret recipe of no less than 12 ingredients, developed over years. I will pass your comments to all our staff, they will be thrilled. Thanks again!, John Pagani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Ate here recently. Sat in at the cafe. Needed gluten free fish which they obliged us with by cooking it fresh on the grill at no extra cost! They were carefull to warn us that the chips have fish cooked in the same frier so they could not guarantee chips as gluten free (if you are very intollerant have salad instead). Fish was amazingly fresh and delicate in flavour. Service was with a smile. Clean, friendly would definitely recommend. Sitting in does not cost much more than take away.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sonia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaganiFamily, Owner at The Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you so much Sonia D, we look forward to welcoming you very soon again!

Did you know if you let us know with 24 hour notice we can now arrange for 100% gluten free CHIPS as well.

It would our pleasure to help you with dietary needs, one of the little extras you can count on at Th Cafe Royal.

Thanks again, John Pagani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

The Cafe Royal is the best fish and chip shop you will find in Dumfriesshire if not the whole of Scotland.
I will admit I am biased as I am from Annan originally, however I have been to other fish bars who have also won awards and they really can't match the atmosphere and variety available at the Cafe Royal.
Apart from the amazing fish and chips, the macaroni cheese and steak pies are delicious. And if you have ever paid for a fish supper in Edinburgh you will appreciate the prices are very reasonable, especially considering the quality and portion sizes.
There are always plenty of staff, you are never kept waiting. The seating areas, both outside and in, are always clean and you can happily sit and relax after your meal. The coffee and cakes (all freshly homemade, you must try the scones and the pecan caramel shortbread) are an added extra which make this place much more than your standard chip shop.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank marz_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaganiFamily, Owner at The Cafe Royal, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2012

Hello there, thank you so much for your kind review. We always appreciate our customers giving us feedback, it's especially rewarding when it as generous as your review.

Again, Thank you and rest assured, I will pass your review to our staff.

John Pagani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cafe Royal also viewed

Annan, Dumfries and Galloway
Annan, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Annan, Dumfries and Galloway
Annan, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to The Cafe Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing