We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value for your money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rowanbank Guesthouse

Rowanbank Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rowanbank Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 7 Annan B&B and Inns
liverpool
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“good value for your money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

nice welcome from Steven and was show to my room ,asked about the WiFi and he moved me to a double where i could get it .The room was well spaced and nice and cool after a long drive ,Tea and coffee making available and was on suite very bright and i had time to rest before the wedding party .slept well and very peaceful, Breakfast was very nice and next time will have to find out where you get your sausage they are very tasty. over all a very nice guesthouse and a good stop over if travelling on .Try it you will not be sorry ...If you like to swim the local swimming pool is with in 100 yards ..

Room Tip: if you want WiFi in your room, ask and they will help you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank demba12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    16
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
17
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were booked in for two nights, the room was lovely and the hosts were very friendly. However we were not impressed by Annan. The town seemed very rough and has a distinct lack of decent places to eat or even have a quiet drink. We left after the first night. However we could not fault the service provided at Rowanbank, if you are unfortunate enough to have to spend a night at Annan, stay there!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LollyIsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowanbank, Manager at Rowanbank Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your room and our hospitality.

But it is a shame that your experience was spoiled because Annan did not live up to your expectations.

However, as we had recommended there are some great restaurants and pubs here - check out the Trip Advisor reviews!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We were visiting my Family in Annan and stayed here for 4 nights.
The room was huge and very clean. Plenty of room for the 3 of us.
Breakfast was great. The owners could not have been more helpful.
Pleasure to stay here and will stay again next time we come for a family visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robsaitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We were visiting from Canada, and stayed here our first night. Our hosts were very helpful and communicated well with us through email. There were three of us in a family room, which we found to be comfortable and clean. There was a bit of noise from the street (minor) and the parking in the back was a little tight for us, driving on the right side of the car for the first time. Our first Scottish breakfast was very generous and tasty. Would recommend this bed and breakfast.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CanadianPiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night in family room to break up a long journey. Huge room. Spotlessly clean. Owners very friendly and helpful and very accommodating especially towards the children. Lovely breakfast. Will definitely use again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarewil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Very handy near the train station and centre of Annan, this place is run by a lovely couple. We will definitely be back to stay here if we're in the area again. Enjoys all the facilities you would hope to have in a good B&B.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 which was an ideally sized double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tardy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Got a great nights sleep and a good breakfast.
Friendly people.
Nice clean rooms.
Reasonable price.
Would use again when visiting annan.
Good tea and sausages.
Really comfy beds.
LOvely old building with good sized rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Always27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Annan
0.1 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Queensberry Arms Hotel
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#3 of 7 in Annan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Waterside Rooms
The Waterside Rooms
#1 of 1 in Dornock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowanbank Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowanbank Guesthouse

Property: Rowanbank Guesthouse
Address: 20 St. Johns Road, Annan DG12 6AW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Annan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Annan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rowanbank Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Rowanbank Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowanbank Guesthouse Annan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing